Vintage tuner prep - 07' 360 JG

Vintage, Modern, V & C Series, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

ric330
Intermediate Member

Vintage tuner prep - 07' 360 JG

Post by ric330 »

Please, Let me first say:
I don't advocate anyone attempting this unless you are quite familiar with working on finishes.This type of work is going to void your warranty.

I've been working on guitars for 30 years and I'm always constantly researching and learning the tricks of the trade from experts like Paul W.
So please use caution and common sense before attempting a project like this.

Well the 07' 360 JG is nothing less than absolutely fantastic. It is just fine out of the box BUT I just love vintage guitars and I want to vintage up my 07' 360.
I've played this guitar to death for only owning it for 2 weeks and I'm ready to put it up on the bench.

So I pulled off the strings, bridge, tail, and Schaller tuners.
Got my vintage parts from Mike and first thing is to prep for the vintage tuners.

When you pull your stock Schallers off the guitar, you'll have some elephant feet impressions on the face of the headstock from the stock Scaller tuner washers which the vintage tuner bushings just won't cover. Note this is extremely evident due to the guitar finished in JG. Anyone who has owned a black car or black guitar knows what I'm talking about. Every ding, nick, and scratch shows. Here the impressions are really visible after a few strokes with 1000 sandpaper:

OK, now hang in there, it looks alot worst before it looks better. Now here I have sanded around the ring impressions only through the last layer of clear coat and very carefully into but not through the next layer. This is only an extremely thin depth due to careful even sanding with 1000 sandpaper. Note the low "E" washer ring impression still unsanded and the top clear coat still on at the top of the headstock, clearly visible: