Are 360/12's hard to play?

Vintage, Modern, V & C Series, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

jviss

Post by jviss »

Hey, great forum. New owner, first Ric, a new 360/12 Fireglo.

I'm not a pro player, I've been playing on and off for 40 years, folk, rock, classical. My first 12 string is a Takamine acoustic F400s (an early one). I didn't have much trouble with this one.

But wow, my left hand is killing me! I'm having genuine trouble with barre chords, particularly towards the headstock.

I have also noticed how narrow the neck is, nd it's taking a bit of practice to play it.

The action seems fine, perfect, in fact. I am quite impressed at the factory set-up.

Is this normal?
eljayski

Re: Are 360/12's hard to play?

Post by eljayski »

hi, john. i got a 330/12 recently and initially had the same problems with playability. i have a telecaster 12-str that played better.

my ric needed (and received) a setup which made a world of difference.

my limited experience is that a ric can appear to be better set up than it really is.

two of my rics came with excellent setups (provided by the seller) while the other two (different seller) needed post-purchase attention.

hope this helps, eljayski
330/12 fg
360/6 fg
381/6 fg
4003 mg
jdawe

Post by jdawe »

It doesn't sound normal to me. If you're not accustomed to the narrow Rickenbacker fretboard it can take some time to get used to, particularly on a 12. However, it sounds like you're also having issues with the amount of pressure you have to exert to fret barre chords. My experience with my 620-12 (which I got about a year ago) was very different -- I was expecting to have difficulty, having never played a 12 before, and was surprised to find that it was almost as easy to play as my 620-6.