New member and first time Ric owner!

Vintage, Modern, V & C Series, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

Bunk

New member and first time Ric owner!

Post by Bunk »

Firstly let me say hello from sunny Manchester, UK. I've lusted after Rickenbacker's, especially 330's, since my childhood days obsessing over Paul Weller in his The Jam days and Johnny Marr and his Jetglo 330. I'm a drummer first and foremost but I gave that up (at the ripe old age of 15 :D ) to play bass in a local band. I've always had a guitar but I'd deffo class myself as a novice player! No soloing here!! Scroll on a few years and I finally decided to do something about my Ric itch.. I've played about on a few 330's/360's I'd come across in shops over the years but none of them seemed to feel right to me? Having large hands and fingers maybe didn't help either? Anyway I saw a 1980 330 advertised in a local shop so I decided to check it out. Within minutes of picking it up it just felt and played so well.

The shop had it listed as 'Walnut' but after a bit of research, mainly on here, I believe its an Autumnglo finish as its satin rather than gloss. Some bits of the body have 'brassed' quite nicely; that is to say the satin finish has gone shiny with wear such as the upper part of the body where your right arm rests. Its got a few chips here and there but its only 5 years younger than me! I wish I was in such good shape!!