Found a large box labeled Rickenbacker...

Tube and solidstate amplifiers made by Rickenbacker

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

hi50

Found a large box labeled Rickenbacker...

Post by hi50 »

Hello all, I’m totally new to Rickenbacker gear, and have found this forum to be very informative. I’m posting my first post to share something I just received from my neighbor. She was cleaning out her storage room and asked me if I wanted anything before it was taken to the dump. I saw a large box labeled Rickenbacker, and opened it to find a brand new Transonic model #201 cab. It was just sitting in a corner, still in its original shipping box, never unpacked. The box was water damaged but because of the thick cardboard bottom the unit was unaffected. I offered her some money for it but she said I was doing her a favor by getting rid of a box that was too heavy for her.

I took some pictures of the box, cause I thought it might be rare to see one (Sorry, I haven't figured out how to post them). Anyway its super cool and I plugged it into the speaker out port on my little 15watt Fender and it sounded great. Do you folks recommend doing anything to it before I use it more? I haven’t played it very loud, just to test if it worked. Thanks for looking.

posted some pics on picasa, hope this works. http://picasaweb.google.com/11415246404 ... 4095451154
libratune
Veteran RRF member

Re: Found a large box labeled Rickenbacker...

Post by libratune »

Looks to me like you stumbled upon a gold mine of sorts. That cab has 2x12" and 1x15" speakers. It's a bit of a time capsule. Now you just need the head . . . :wink:

If you use the search feature on the upper right for 'transonic', you'll get a lot of hits and maybe some info you can use.

Congrats - and welcome to the Forum!
hi50

Post by hi50 »

Thanks for the tip, this site is invaluable. I'd love to find an original head, but they seem to be a little rare, looks like I have a new hobby. :D
collin

Post by collin »