Help this young pup define his goal.

Vintage, Modern, V & C series, Fretless, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

SquireFan91

Help this young pup define his goal.

Post by SquireFan91 »

Hi there, I'm relatively new here, and hoping some of the Rickenbacker gurus here can help me out. I occasionally lurk around here to look at instruments and read an interesting tid-bit here or there. I do not own a Ric, but desperately want to, and as soon as finances allow, plan on acquiring one. But I've decided it's time I flesh out this dream of mine so I have a clear idea of what I'm working towards. I'm a 20-year old bass guitarist whose dream tone is the sound Chris Squire gets on "Yours Is No Disgrace" from The Yes Album. I also LOVE Geddy Lee's tone on the Hemispheres album, Paul D'Amour's (Tool) tone on the Undertow album, Jon Camp's (Renaissance) tone on the Scheherazade and Other Stories album, and Martin Turner's (Wishbone Ash) tone on the Argus Album. I know that on all of these albums a Rickenbacker 4001 was used, respectively: RM1999, 4001, 4001CS, 4001, and another 4001. Couldn't say what year or exactly what custom mods might have been made, only this very basic info. As to my preferences as a player, I like the more stripped down look of the RM1999,4003s, 4001V63, 4001CS and 4001C64 basses and the look (and I'll assume sound, though I've never gotten the chance to compare side by side) of toaster/horseshoe pups. As to necks, I'm a smaller guy with stupid, short little sausage fingers, I really like the feel of the neck on my Schecter 004 (which I call my Rickenfacker, though I know it really isn't), which is pretty J-bass like, if perhaps a little chunkier to keep it from feeling too small. I prefer a shorter scale, and with the shorter scale can even be quite comfortable with a wider neck (which I know almost all Rics have), but I HATE baseball bat necks (Thunderbird). So what I'm asking is, with all the variation in Rickenbacker b