Grover replacement?

Vintage, Modern, V & C series, Fretless, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

GoldenGloryOrn

Grover replacement?

Post by GoldenGloryOrn »

Yup, Noob here. Hello.

Got a '73 4000 that needs some TLC. Bought it for about £100 maybe 20 years ago and now I'm finally going to do something with it. Biggest problem is the A Grover (wavy, of course) blew up before I bought it. Second biggest problem is I had a tatty-looking but mechanically sound spare set when I bought it. Now I live on a different continent ... can I find them? (Er ... no.)

So, the big question is, which replacement tuners are the easiest to fit? I really don't mind about the screw holes round the back, but would rather not have to ream out the post holes.

If anyone's interested, I think it may end up Jim Reeves blue ...
woodyng

Re: Grover replacement?

Post by woodyng »

I don't have the technical answers to your query,but there are plenty of people here who will. Welcome! I have a '74 4000 myself. Is yours set-neck? Is there 2nd pickup routing under the pickguard,errr,scratchplate? My bass had nickle Kluson keys on it when i purchased it 10 years ago,i thought they were original until i decided to replace them,at which point i discovered the bass originally had the "small box" Grovers on them. If you decide to go with a kluson or Hipshot key set,the grover footprint will be completely covered on the rear of the headstock. Not sure about whether you would need to bore out larger holes. (I didn't need to).
By the way,the light blue(boy) color sounds great,and would look killer with gold plastic!
Kopfjaeger
Advanced Member

Post by Kopfjaeger »