To Pan or Blend

Vintage, Modern, V & C series, Fretless, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

darrin7

To Pan or Blend

Post by darrin7 »

lots of info out there on this subject. Now, is there a difference between a PAN & a BLEND knob & what is the advantage, if any between VVT & Pan / Blend setup ?
ram

Re: To Pan or Blend

Post by ram »

I'm no expert but this seems to outline it as I understand it:
http://guitarnuts2.proboards.com/thread ... d-pan-pots

I have a 4004C where Dane Wilder made me a hot harness replacing the switch with a blend knob. I love the single Volume and Tone for both pickups but wanted to be able to have a little bit of a mixing capability as well as having the effect of having one or the other pickup on. Thus I have the B/V/T harness (with coil tapping pull/push on the V/T knobs for each pickup). I love the effect ... it serves me well.
The only thing we can perceive are our perceptions - George Berkeley
woodyng

Post by woodyng »

I've had several of my 4004 basses converted to VVT,but decided to try a MV/pan/MT setup on my Cheyennne 1.
I really can't say there's much difference in the available sounds with either setup. Having the Pan pot does keep you from having to decide which volume control to alter.
jps
RRF Consultant

Post by jps »

woodyng wrote:...Having the Pan pot does keep you from having to decide which volume control to alter.
First world problems. :lol:
woodyng

Post by woodyng »

jps wrote:
woodyng wrote:...Having the Pan pot does keep you from having to decide which volume control to alter.
First world problems. :lol:
Right? :lol: 8)
ram

Post by ram »

I have read threads where the blend is supposed to alter the sound or tone... I have not noticed this. I am actually toying with the idea of getting a harness for either my 4003s5 or 4001 with a blend and overall volume. Keeping the two tone pots.
The only thing we can perceive are our perceptions - George Berkeley
Gilmourisgod