Through-composed songs

Putting music theory into practice
sloop_john_b
Rick-a-holic

Through-composed songs

Post by sloop_john_b »

I'm currently studying composition, both in private lessons and in a historical context. Right now, it's late-Renaissance and Baroque period.

In that era (15/16th century), songs were either strophic (i.e., used a reoccuring melody with different lyrics each time, what we'd call verses in pop music), or through-composed, having almost no repeating parts whatsoever.

I've been trying to think of pop/rock songs that are through-composed or at least close to it, and I can't seem to think of any. Excepting pseudo-avant-garde stuff like Revolution 9, of course. Can anybody think of something with no verses and no choruses, just new part after new part and so on?
lyle_from_minneapolis
Advanced Member

Post by lyle_from_minneapolis »

Bohemian Rhapsody... let me think of some more.
Here is where I hide my music:
http://www.soundclick.com/MarkKaufman
lyle_from_minneapolis
Advanced Member

Happiness Is A Warm Gun...
lyle_from_minneapolis
Advanced Member

Abbey Road, side two...
doctorwho
Veteran RRF member

Post by doctorwho »

One Man Band (Three Dog Night) comes close.
It is better, of course, to know useless things than to know nothing. - Seneca
jps
RRF Consultant

Post by jps »

Would something like Tales Of Topographic Oceans count? Especially side three.
bitzerguy
RRF Consultant

Post by bitzerguy »

Tubular Bells.

...Dean
...Dean
Never, ever drool on your surf shirt. It wrecks the solo.

660/12FG, 350V63/6FG, 620/6JG, 360WB/6DBG, Dingwall C1 #001, Prestige Heritage Elite FM
longhouse
Advanced Member

Post by longhouse »

'Song Of Solomon' by Steve Kilbey may fit the bill.

I'm guessing this style of composition is extremely rare in rock / pop music. Even the prog crowd likes to give the songs an anchor.
Shaking the floor of Heaven
longhouse
Advanced Member

Post by longhouse »