Windows 7

Rules, posting instructions and the latest news.

Windows 7

Postby (ken_j) » Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:22 am

I finally got frutrated enough to get a new computer. My old one was given to me by a friend. It had XP but not enough memory. It used Rambus memory and the best price I could find it for was $279 for 1 gig.
I now have 5 gig of memory so I now am speeding along. :lol: There is definitely a learning curve with Windows 7 and the end is nowhere in sight. One thing that I have found is that the forum spell check no longer works for me. Is there anything I can do to get it working again?
"The best things in life aren't things."
User avatar
(ken_j)
RRF Consultant
 
Posts: 4216
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:31 am
Location: Motown

Re: Windows 7

Postby (admin) » Wed Nov 25, 2009 11:25 am

Ken: Why not add spell check to your Windows Explorer?

http://www.petri.co.il/add_spell_checki ... plorer.htm
Life, as with music, often requires one to let go of the melody and listen to the rhythm

Please join the Official RickResource Forum Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/groups/379271585440277
User avatar
(admin)
Site Admin
 
Posts: 14403
Joined: Wed Jul 05, 2000 6:00 am
Location: Fredericton, NB Canada

Re: Windows 7

Postby (ken_j) » Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:02 pm

Thanks, I will check it out.
"The best things in life aren't things."
User avatar
(ken_j)
RRF Consultant
 
Posts: 4216
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:31 am
Location: Motown

Re: Windows 7

Postby (beatlefreak) » Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:57 pm

Thanks for the link, Peter.
Ka is a wheel.
User avatar
(beatlefreak)
Senior Member
 
Posts: 6159
Joined: Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:45 am
Location: Duluth, GA, USA

Re: Windows 7

Postby (gibsonlp) » Thu Dec 10, 2009 2:02 am

Since the upgrade (a bit over 2 years ago) the forum lost it's spell checker.
When I checked there were simply no spell checkers out there for phpbb3, the reason was that every browser has spellcheck plugins and putting it in the forum makes it redundant.
So long and thanks for all the fish!
User avatar
(gibsonlp)
Technical Admin
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: Israel

Re: Windows 7

Postby (ken_j) » Thu Dec 10, 2009 10:05 am

I was using Firefox on my old computer. It must have been giving me spell check. I thought it was the forum. I am now using whatever version of Explorer came on this computer.
"The best things in life aren't things."
User avatar
(ken_j)
RRF Consultant
 
Posts: 4216
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:31 am
Location: Motown

Re: Windows 7

Postby (cjj) » Thu Dec 10, 2009 11:16 am

Yeah, Firefox is nice that way...
I have NO idea what to do with those skinny stringed things... I'm just a bass player...
User avatar
(cjj)
RRF Moderator
 
Posts: 10802
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2008 7:17 pm
Location: New Zealand

Re: Windows 7

Postby (gibsonlp) » Thu Dec 10, 2009 6:06 pm

Just install Firefox anyway, it's a really great browser.
So long and thanks for all the fish!
User avatar
(gibsonlp)
Technical Admin
 
Posts: 1712
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 11:40 pm
Location: Israel

Re: Windows 7

Postby (electrofaro) » Sun Aug 07, 2011 3:07 pm

ken_j wrote:I was using Firefox on my old computer. It must have been giving me spell check

At work we run Win XP Pro,at home I have 7 Home Pre - got the latest FF, but at work I get spellchecker, and at home I don't.

I've tried to get the däng, annoying spellchecked to be switched off at work, but can't find anything in FF add-ons that might explain the spell check.
I do have the advanced options add-on - is there maybe a hidden spell check option I might have accidentally turned on?
'75 430 JG || '98 360 MG || '03 360 SCW || '04 650C BG
User avatar
(electrofaro)
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: :noitacoL

Re: Windows 7

Postby (Ain'tGotNoPokemon) » Tue Aug 09, 2011 8:09 pm

Wildberry wrote:
ken_j wrote:I was using Firefox on my old computer. It must have been giving me spell check

At work we run Win XP Pro,at home I have 7 Home Pre - got the latest FF, but at work I get spellchecker, and at home I don't.

I've tried to get the däng, annoying spellchecked to be switched off at work, but can't find anything in FF add-ons that might explain the spell check.
I do have the advanced options add-on - is there maybe a hidden spell check option I might have accidentally turned on?

Right click - "Check Spelling" will be checked. Uncheck it. :wink:
(Ain'tGotNoPokemon)
Member
 
Posts: 243
Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 5:37 pm

Re: Windows 7

Postby (electrofaro) » Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:13 pm

There's actually no reference to spelling in the right-click menu for me, either at work, or at home.
'75 430 JG || '98 360 MG || '03 360 SCW || '04 650C BG
User avatar
(electrofaro)
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: :noitacoL

Re: Windows 7

Postby (winston) » Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:20 pm

Werner,

Go into the post a reply window and add some text. Right click and THEN you will find the spell check option in FireFox. :mrgreen:
“We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” - Albert Einstein

"You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother" - Albert Einstein
User avatar
(winston)
Membership Admin
 
Posts: 11010
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:00 am
Location: British Columbia Canada

Re: Windows 7

Postby (electrofaro) » Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:51 pm

Oi! No :lol: It does have a "Add Dictionaries" option here at home... so, I guess the answer at work would be: yes you're right. Thanks, Brian :mrgreen:
'75 430 JG || '98 360 MG || '03 360 SCW || '04 650C BG
User avatar
(electrofaro)
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3567
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2009 4:25 pm
Location: :noitacoL

Re: Windows 7

Postby (winston) » Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:59 pm

You are welcome Werner. :D
“We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” - Albert Einstein

"You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother" - Albert Einstein
User avatar
(winston)
Membership Admin
 
Posts: 11010
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2005 6:00 am
Location: British Columbia Canada


Return to Rules and Questions for Admin ONLY

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest