D-16 steel guitar

Exploring the beauty and tone of Rickenbacker Lap Steels

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

sazygirl

D-16 steel guitar

Post by sazygirl »

I have a D-16 steel guitar, and am interested in knowing when it was made. I also would like to know the approx value if possible. I am not sure how to attach a picture as I am new at this, but I do have a pat # if that helps at all. It is 2089171. Thank you to anyone who can help me with this. Or even if they can tell me how to get pics put on here for you to see.
Thanks,
Tammy
Darkhollow

Re: D-16 steel guitar

Post by Darkhollow »

If you already have pictures on your computer of the instrument, there is an "Upload Attachment" click able option on the left under the the text box when you post. You can select that and browse to the pictures location to upload them.

Or link directly to a hosting site like putfile or photobucket etc.
johnallg
Rick-a-holic

Post by johnallg »

Welcome Tammy. To post a picture, make it about 800 x 600 and 135k in size, then click the tab below the box you type in that says Upload Attachment, then follow the steps and viola, you pictures are posted.

Ha, you type faster Justin!
sazygirl

Post by sazygirl »

Thank you both so much. I am trying to downsize them right now, so in just a few minutes with any luck they should be on here. I appreciate your help!
Tammy
johnallg
Rick-a-holic

Post by johnallg »

I'm just learning about Rick laps, but I think the serial numbers were stamped in the body. Can't remember if it was in the headstock area or around the bridge end. The patent number does not relate to the manufacturing date, I believe. If Richard pops in you'll get definitive answers.

I did find this: http://lapsteelguitar.com/awsumcart.asp ... lap_rick_4
And this one: http://elderly.com/vintage/items/185U-400.htm
Also there is one like this at a pawn shop here and they are asking $1395.
sazygirl

Post by sazygirl »

Hope these pics worked.
Attachments
th_Gutar_025-1.jpg