BD6 identification help?

Exploring the beauty and tone of Rickenbacker Lap Steels

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

Mike Anderson

BD6 identification help?

Post by Mike Anderson »

Hi all, newbie here and very glad I found this great resource.

I just purchased a BD6 lap steel, and am hoping someone might be able to give me a year, and possibly a location for a serial number. The last owner described it as "early Fifites" but didn't seem to know more than that. It came with the original case, which is brown leather with bright red plush lining and two internal lidded pockets; the lids have crocodile-imprinted leather undersides. The only changes made to it were replacement pots (but original knobs I believe) and tuners (replaced with very similar vintage nickel style).

Although obviously a later model, it has string-through body. It has a very clean, minty appearance. Here are some pics - please let me know if you want me to post or email any other angles, I also have the original Clarostat pots and tuners if that will help in ID'ing the guitar:

Thanks in advance for any lore on this model -
Mike.

PS I bought this baby to play, just so you know I am not asking for this info to try to resell and profit on it. :)
rshatz
RRF Consultant

Re: BD6 identification help?

Post by rshatz »

Mike,
Spectacular and very interesting and unusual example of a great instrument.
1. What's spectacular? The rarity and condition. You hardly ever see BD steels,especially in pristine condition.
2. What's interesting? Few postwar BDs and for that matter did not have string though bodies. Most had a metal tail piece that held the bottom end of the strings.
3. What's unusual? All of the above.
These were made from the late 40s into the early 70s. I've never seen a BD or post war Model B with a serial number.
But, if that pot in the photo is original. The code on it could tell us much more.
Mike Anderson

Post by Mike Anderson »