Tell me about your first Rickenbacker...

General Rickenbacker discussion

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

tcsmit29

Tell me about your first Rickenbacker...

Post by tcsmit29 »

Hey all, I though it would be interesting to hear everyone's story about how they got started with their first Rickenbacker guitar. I will start...

My first Rickenbacker was a 1988 325v63.

As I grew up, I was exposed to lot's of Beatles music. My dad was a huge Beatles fan and had played in a cover band in his late teens. I started playing guitar at the age of 12 on an el cheapo Harmony acoustic. My dad taught me a few songs from his cover band days, like Day Tripper, Feel A whole Lot Better, Gloria, and Midnight Hour amongst others. As I got better on the guitar, I told my parents that I wanted to get an electric guitar. I wanted a Rickenbacker due to the Beatles connection, but I wasn't even sure if the company was still around. This was pre-internet :D . My mom called a local guitar store in Augusta, GA to inquire about the Rickenbacker company. They gave her a number for the company, she called them up and they sent us a brochure catalog/price list. They also gave mom a number for a music shop in Atlanta which was the closest Rick dealer. When I looked at the price list, I was heartbroken because I wanted the 325v63 which had a list price of around $900. A lot of money in those days. I considered other models, the 320 was a little cheaper, a jetglo 610 would look close enough perhaps. But I really wanted that 325. I didn't know it at the time, but my mom ordered the 325 from the Atlanta dealer and was informed that there would be a long wait for the guitar. She paid it off on an installment plan and the guitar actually came in sooner than anticipated. I think the she paid around $750 dollars for it. I got it for Christmas that year (1988). Best Christmas gift ever! I loved that guitar and have been obsessed with Ricks ever since. There hasn't been a time since then that I haven't h