I'm learning to play and I'm in doubt...

General Rickenbacker discussion

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

Rethan

I'm learning to play and I'm in doubt...

Post by Rethan »

First off, I really have no real musical experience. I had 5 years of piano lessons in grade school, but they were all from teachers that just taught songs, no theory whatsoever. After that I took a year of clarinet, bass guitar and guitar, again, no theory, no 'let's start with chords', no 'let's learn about keys', no 'practice your scales' etc. In college I taught myself the guitar for a year or so with the a book called "teach yourself the blues" and that was my introduction to theory. It's the only time I ever learned anything about keys (which I still don't totally understand), scales, chords etc, but it was all self taught, but I learned more teaching myself then I learned with all my other teachers, barring piano because I (more or less) learned how to read music from her. I was so proud of myself after working with that book when I could pick a random key (well, fret) and play the 12 bar blues based around that note.

Anyways, I struggled with guitar during that year (in college), even after a year, even after I could play a little, it still never clicked.

I keep thinking I should pick it back up, I'd love to be able to pick something up and be able to play. I don't particularly care what it is, I'm not looking to perform in front of people, I'm not looking to join a band, I'd just like to be able to play something. I'm also not looking to get real lessons, but I'm more than happy to do something online like JustinGuitar or Nars Ginley etc.