Which Stratocaster For "That Sound"?

Performing and Interpreting Shadows' Music
doctorno
RRF Consultant

Which Stratocaster For "That Sound"?

Post by doctorno »

Hi, I have read through the other threads about the Shadows´ sound of the early years (1959-1963) and the Burns period (1964-1970). I have learned a lot by reading this and I am delighted to find out that I am not alone with my search for "that sound."

Now, if I would like to get as close as possible to the recorded sound of The Shadows between 1959 and 1963 live, what equipment would I need?

I am interested especially to learn which guitar I should use. Right now I am exclusively playing Rickenbacker guitars but I have got a Fender Highway One at the school, where I work as a music teacher. Would it be possible to get close to "that sound" with the Highway 1 or do you need a special Strat model? Which pickups are best suited and which strings? Do you have to use a set of 12-52s or will a standard set of strings also do?

I have got a BOSS DD-20 delay which is able to emulate a tape echo quite well and an AC30. But when I use these and the Strat it does not sound like Hank at all.
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Markus: You will receive a number of different sorts of answers to these questions, but full marks for asking them.

Most of us are limited by the amount of gear that we can afford, or find for that matters in today's marketplace. At the end of the day, it is often about doing the best you can with what you have.