toaster/higain inductance

Building pickups from the ground up

Moderator: jingle_jangle

Les

toaster/higain inductance

Post by Les »

Hi,
I just joined....and also just bought a 2007 360-12 jg. Love the guitar.
I have a question... Does anyone know the inductance, dc resistance, and shunt capacitance of various newer and older higains and toasters? I'm fooling around with a SPICE model of various guitar circuits.
Thanks
beatlefreak

Re: toaster/higain inductance

Post by beatlefreak »

Welcome to the forum, Wes! Not sure about the inductance and capacitance of the pickups, having never measured them - But the DC resistances are: Toaster ~ 7.4kΩ, Hi-Gain ~ 11kΩ, HB1 ~ 15kΩ.
Les

Post by Les »

Thanks, Kris.

I want toaster sound but I do not want to take my new rick all to pieces or change it in any way. Being new, it has higains.
I'm an engineer that does acoustic transducer design. I used to be an R&D engineer for Shure brothers long ago.

Anyway, I think I have some circuits I have put together that will give an authentic toaster sound even with higains with no modifications. It would be something that plugs into the guitar, then a regular cord plugs into it. It may not even need batteries. Then I can get that great Beatles/Byrds sound easily without any guitar mods! I already found a reference to the earlier toasters....about 1.7 Henries, 7K resistance, and about 120pF stray capacitance. I can measure the highgains on my new guitar, but I might have to unhook a pickup. If someone has the numbers that will save me from having to desolder stuff on the new guitar.
beatlefreak

Post by beatlefreak »

Les, the biggest difference in sound to overcome will be the different magnets used. Toasters use alnico pole pieces, while hi-gains have a ceramic magnet glued to the bottom of slug poles. Thie yields a completely different magnetic field with differnt tonal characteristics and different resonances.
doctorwho
Veteran RRF member

Post by doctorwho »