Another high gain to toaster question

Building pickups from the ground up

Moderator: jingle_jangle

Kyle

Post by Kyle »

I have ordered a new Toaster pickup, which I intend on putting in my 360/12 bridge position.

I never use the neck position often, so am thinking of putting a toaster cover on the high gain and leaving it.

I have read a lot of the advice on here, but am puzzled on one thing: once the pole pieces have modified, can the mod be reversed? As in, is that the pickup done and can't be used with the high gain cover again?

My problem is I haven't looked at the pickup underneath. Do the pole pieces on the top get removed, or is it just from the bottom that they need to be cut?

As you can see, any help appreciated, total noob at this.
rickendelic

Re: Another high gain to toaster question

Post by rickendelic »

It depends on the type of high gain you have. If you have a modern high gain which uses an Allen wrench to adjust the height of the poles, then you can take the poles out and put them back no problem. Any mods to the earlier high gains I believe are, let's say, slightly more permanent.

Have you seen this link

viewtopic.php?t=379251#p402948
Kyle

Post by Kyle »

It is the new high gains I have.

I take it then that there are 2 sides to the pole piece? A head on each side of the pickup that comes out with an allen key?
jdawe

Post by jdawe »

I take it then that there are 2 sides to the pole piece? A head on each side of the pickup that comes out with an allen key?
I'm not sure what you mean. The new Hi-Gains poles are threaded and have allen key slots in the top of the pole pieces. This allows the poles to be screwed out and replaced by headless screws with the same thread that will fit under a toaster cover.
Kyle

Post by Kyle »