Writer's Block

Off Topic discussion forum

Moderators: ajish4, cjj

DoubleThink

Writer's Block

Post by DoubleThink »

For nearly a year now, I've had the toughest time coming up with a new, original tune. It's not that mine were necessarily remarkable creations, but it's great to find that groove, you know? And there was a groove. Sure, but I'm not feeling particularly groovy any longer. It's like all the chords, rhythms and progressions are the same old stale stuff I've played for the past decades.

I've tried composing through keys, switching up guitars and basses, trying out new percussions patterns, and composing through lyrics, but I'm getting dud after dud after dud. I'm studying a breadth of genres and old records for inspiration ... even some new ones, too. I'm playing other artist's material and using some of their ideas to root my compositions, but ... I don't know.... It feels like the spark is gone ... and that feels hollow. I'm at loose ends.

Short of a peyote moment with Don Juan, any suggestions?
Last edited by DoubleThink on Sat May 26, 2012 10:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rics ... and some other stuff....
beatbyrd
Intermediate Member

Re: Writer's Block

Post by beatbyrd »

I have no idea how to help, but last Wednesday, I was in a pizza shop that plays nothing but blues songs on their IPOD/docking station. The guy in one song sang something like, "I'm gonna get a shotgun and separate my brain from my head for a while". Can't say as I've ever been there. I've had OTHER folks suggest that particular course of action (former girlfriends, former girlfriends' parents, former bandmates, former bosses, a few RRFers, etc.), but I could never come up with something like that.
The point is: the guy who wrote that song somehow found some inspiration to put pen to paper. Whatever you DO decide to do..... do something different than that guy.