Greetings From Middle Earth (aka New Zealand)

Off Topic discussion forum

Moderators: ajish4, cjj

cjj
RRF Moderator

Greetings From Middle Earth (aka New Zealand)

Post by cjj »

Some of you know a bit about my recent move to New Zealand, but I've gotten a few questions on this recently so, since things have finally started settling down a bit I figured it was time to post a few more details. This'll probably get a bit long, so if you don't want all of the details, stop reading after the next sentence.

Yes, I have left Montana and moved to New Zealand.

Why? Well, it wasn't entirely be choice. After 25 years of working as an electronics design engineer for HP, I got a call from my boss at 8:30AM one Monday morning informing me I was out of a job. Just like that, no warning. I found out a few days later that HP's CEO had decided they would no longer allow anyone to "telework," which is what I had been doing for the past 8 years. The official announcement was that teleworkers would have to "go back into the office." But for many of us (including the other 4 teleworkers on my team) they meant someone else's office.

So, with both HP and Yahoo announcing they would no longer allow teleworking, the chances of finding another teleworking job (which is difficult to do anyway, especially when you're new to a job) were pretty much nil. That meant I really had no choice but moving to someplace where I could find a job, which for high-tech means NOT in Montana. The main places are California and Texas.

California? Been there, done that, didn't want to go back there after 25 years of "improvements" to the situation there. Yeah, it's got some great things going for it, mountains, the ocean, but, no thanks.

Texas? Been there too. In some ways it's better than Calif., but, geez, it's TEXAS! :wink: :lol: And just too darned hot!