Copyright question about YouTube cover songs

Rolling the Finest in Digital Movies
melibreits

Copyright question about YouTube cover songs

Post by melibreits »

Had an interesting incident yesterday when I tried to post a cover song on YouTube.... I recorded a video of myself playing Linkin Park's song "Burning in the Skies," and posted it to YouTube, and within five minutes got an email message from YouTube saying that my video may be an infringement of copyright law. Now I am not a professional musician, and I have absolutely nothing to gain financially from posting this song; just thought I'd share my take on it for those friends who are interested in hearing it... But I pulled the video down, and have contacted EMI music asking their permission to post my video--but this has never happened to me before. Has anyone else had an experience like this when posting cover songs to YouTube? With all the millions of people posting their covers on YouTube, why would they show any interest at all in mine? Just curious.... would love some feedback from somebody in the know!
Grey
Advanced Member

Re: Copyright question about YouTube cover songs

Post by Grey »

It could have been an automatic message depending on what category you placed the video in, and what the title was. I'd leave it and if they think its a problem they can remove it.
tyarbrough

Post by tyarbrough »

Hey Melissa,

This is something I've looked into a bit. What happens is Youtube has an automated system a database of copyrighted material they compare to uploaded videos. This applies to music, movies, etc. If something matches, they can do two things:

1) They can block the video or the audio.
2) They can allow the video but place ads or links in your video to profit the publisher.

Youtube has different deals with different publishers...Warner Music Group does not have a deal. If your content matches their stuff, Youtube will block it. Most of the covers I have done, they just put the links in there.