Building Banjoline prototype

Non-Rickenbacker Basses, Fretless Basses & Effects

Moderators: ajish4, cjj

rikk
Intermediate Member

Building Banjoline prototype

Post by rikk »

I'm building a proof of concept prototype Banjoline out of an 3/4 scale SX strat copy. I will need to re-cut a new nut, but the thing I'm concerned about is the bridge. The Banjoline has 4 courses of string, with the highest two doubled. I will need to find or adapt a bridge for this configuration. Any ideas? I was thinking a 12 string bridge would be a good place to start. This is my first project like this do any input would be appreciated.
Ivan3000
Advanced Member

Re: Building Banjoline prototype

Post by Ivan3000 »

You could get one of these hofner bridges and then adapt the four saddles, but it is an extreme pain to intonate, I have one on my Hofner Icon, and I just drilled it into place. It is a very finniky bridge, but it has that vintage vibe, and since you'd be adapting it, you could improve it as well.

For the tailpeice, you could use either a 4 string bass tailpeice and ram two strings in one hole (for the top two sets) or you could get a six string tailpeice, but you then may have trouble with the placement from tailpeice to bridge.

The reason I say Hofner parts is because on Hofners, the string spacing is very tight.
Hope this helps.
rikk
Intermediate Member

Post by rikk »

This bridge looks very high compared to the strat bridge, like by an inch. Don't think this would work.
jps
RRF Consultant

Post by jps »

Hard tail or vibrato body?
kiramdear
RRF Moderator

Post by kiramdear »

It could have a B-Bender. :shock: 8)
All I wanna do is rock!
rikk
Intermediate Member

Post by rikk »