Fuzz and Farfisa

Discussing 60s and 70s Garage Band Music
kenposurf
RRF Consultant

Fuzz and Farfisa

Post by kenposurf »

The Music Machine (1965-69) great Garage/Proto punk/Psych band from LA..The singers voice reminds me a bit of the great Arthur Lee who will be the subject of our next post.
kennyhowes
Veteran RRF member

Re: Fuzz and Farfisa

Post by kennyhowes »

RAWK!

(Plus, the singer is playing one of those weird Martin electrics - first time I think I've seen one in a promo clip.)
elreydlp
Intermediate Member

Post by elreydlp »

Talk about timing. I stumbled across this forum yesterday and was going to add a thread on this group. The singer is Sean Bonniwell, and he is also the writer. When I started playing in the early '60's, he was in a folk group in Charleston, SC called "The Wayfarers". My bands shared a few stages with them. They were nice guys (older than us) and were entertaining as Hell; often changing lyrics like on "Tie Me Kangaroo Down Sport" for comic relief. They were signed to RCA and released an album "Live At The Hungry I" right at the end of the Folk Boom. I think they had a couple of others as well.
Our band learned "Talk, Talk", and when I saw the writing credited to "Bonniwell", I went, "Hmmmm-I wonder...." and did a little checking and found that lo and behold, it was him. His subsequent ventures have largely failed.
A few years back, I re-established contact with the Wayfarers' Banjo player, Ray Blouin. After college, he became a Coast Guard Officer and served 25-30 years. His son Blaise was a skateboarder of some note and a friend of my son's. Blaise died tragically, and my son established a website in his honor. In the course of that, he got in touch with Ray and got his contact info to me. He is living in the mountains of Western Virginia and still playing Bluegrass and Americana on guitar and banjo. He is occasionally in contact with Sean.
kiramdear
RRF Moderator

Post by kiramdear »