John switches to lead guitar

Answers to your questions about The Searchers
wrd

John switches to lead guitar

Post by wrd »

Mike and John are great guitarists in their own right. I know Mike was considered the lead guitarist in the beginning and maybe through most of their early and mid hits. Then I understand John began to assume the lead guitarist roll. Why did they decide to make the switch and when did it actual occur? I believe Mike continued his use of the 12 string but John was now the lead guitarist.
nick_allen
Veteran RRF member

Re: John switches to lead guitar

Post by nick_allen »

Let me start with the disclaimer that I have zero knowledge of the inner workings and background history of the Searchers (I've got Frank Allen's book, but haven't read it yet). But if Mike wanted to play 12-string, and didn't want to carry two guitars all the time, there are some songs/guitar parts in which the lead is just not suited to a 12-string. "Suzie Q", "Shaking All Over", most Chuck Berry leads, all come to mind as not working that well with a 12-string. There is a clip somewhere of George Harrison doing "Roll Over Beethoven" with a 12-string, and you can tell he's struggling...
So if Mike was playing 12 all the time, it would have been natural for him to hand over the lead parts on some songs to John.
Just my thoughts...
wrd

Post by wrd »

Hi Nick. Your observation seems logical. Its a bear to haul around alot of gear. Maybe Mike, upon getting his 12 string and realizing it's become the guitar voice for the group, decided to stay with it and let John take over the typical 6 string solo's. I've had several Ric 360/12's and they are definitely a specialized guitar.

I really like both Mike and John's guitar styles. They complement each other and their songs so well.
chriscurtisfan

Post by chriscurtisfan »

I have noticed, in different vid clips that both John and Mike played 12 string (not at the same time). And both extremely good at it!!