RIC 310 1981 String Gauge / Truss Rod Issue

Setup, repair and restoration of Rickenbacker Instruments

Moderator: jingle_jangle

aborman

RIC 310 1981 String Gauge / Truss Rod Issue

Post by aborman »

Recently purchased a 1981 310.

Arrived with round .10s. Have replaced them with flat .13s IT's. This is has caused some next relief issues I am just not able to correct for some reason. I have been using the correct manual adjustment necessary for pre-1984 instruments outline in these forums.

I have contacted the store about my issues. The guitar was bought online and the listing stated that the truss rods are in working order. In my email to them, I asked if they were indeed working in the store as I am not able to correct the neck relief to accommodate the higher tension of the strings. They stated that .10 to .13 is a huge jump and it is like that the neck can't handle these strings.

Can this be true? I have read so much on these forums that .12 are a standard for short scales which makes me think the truss rods are indeed not working.

What's going on here? Why would it be that the truss rods are not correcting the relief? Does this mean they are possible broken and in need of replacement? What would be my best course of action?
admin
Site Admin

Re: RIC 310 1981 String Gauge / Truss Rod Issue

Post by admin »

Adam as an inexpensive experiment why not put another brand of 12's on this instrument. I suspect that your instrument will appreciate it. A lot cheaper to reduce string tension than to mess with the truss rods in the long run in my view. Yes. I know that TI's are expensive. :)
Life, as with music, often requires one to let go of the melody and listen to the rhythm

Please join the Official RickResource Forum Facebook Page https://www.facebook.com/groups/379271585440277
aborman

Post by aborman »

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.