Your help: identifying a Rickenbacker bass

Vintage, Modern, V & C series, Fretless, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

Stephane TST

Your help: identifying a Rickenbacker bass

Post by Stephane TST »

Hi guys,

I need your help: I would like to know what model my Rickenbacker bass is. It's a 1990 model (serial number H3 63XX), dot markers, horseshoe bridge pickup and 3 way switch.

It looks like a 4003S but the 4003S I've seen do not have a horseshoe pickup. But I am no expert at Rickenbacker basses and the devil's in the details. So I hope you guys can assist.

Thanks!
Attachments
RB CS.jpeg
RB PU.jpeg
RB full.jpeg
sloop_john_b
Rick-a-holic

Re: Your help: identifying a Rickenbacker bass

Post by sloop_john_b »

Welcome Stephanie!

This is a 4003s, likely with the factory “VP”, or “vintage pickup” option. This is referring to not just the horseshoe, but also the Toaster pickup.
Stephane TST

Post by Stephane TST »

Thanks John!

Here are additional pictures of the electronics and both pickups.

So mine is a 1990 4003S with the Vintage Pickup option then? Do you guys all agree?
Attachments
FRONT pu.jpeg
WIRING.jpeg
PU.jpeg
Stephane TST

Post by Stephane TST »

Or could it be a 4001 V63??? Seems unlikely to me to be a 4001 V63 model as they all seem to have a different base plate bridge pickup, a white nut and a square heel where the neck joints the body. Whereas mine has a black nut, a rounded heel and a different base plate (thinner that the V63) for the horseshoe pickup.
Last edited by Stephane TST on Wed Mar 24, 2021 6:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ram

Post by ram »

Not sure what it is but it sure is nice! Welcome to THE forum!
The only thing we can perceive are our perceptions - George Berkeley
Stephane TST

Post by Stephane TST »

Last question: does anyone know the cost of a VP option back then? I mean a rough estimate of what it would have cost in 1990 to have the VP installed on my 4003S?
bassduke49

Post by bassduke49 »