What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Vintage, Modern, V & C series, Fretless, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Postby (lumgimfong) » Tue Oct 05, 2021 12:44 pm

Here is how it sounds with no tone pot or cap. Just volume pot and bridge HB1 first, neck HB1 second. Broken in Fatbeams.

https://soundcloud.com/user-222948482/4 ... be2689235a

Forgive me if any music starts auto playing after the bass sample. For some reason soundcloud keeps playing some songs after I listen to my sample bass tracks. Weird.
User avatar
(lumgimfong)
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:57 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Postby (ram) » Tue Oct 05, 2021 9:06 pm

I'm liking that! Thanks!
The only thing we can perceive are our perceptions - George Berkeley
User avatar
(ram)
Senior Member
 
Posts: 3653
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:55 pm
Location: Bumpass, VA, USA

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Postby (iiipopes) » Fri Oct 08, 2021 2:25 pm

Have you thought about replacing one of the tone controls with a push-pull or a no-load pot so you can have wide open or treble roll-off at your option? You might at some point play something that rolling off the treble is more in keeping with the song. This also lets the instrument pass the "five-foot" test: five feet from the stage, you can't tell the instrument has been modified. And then you can always re-wire back in the original pot if you sell the instrument, keeping the push-pull or no-load pot for your next bass.
http://www.wiredguitarist.com/2017/05/0 ... -tone-pot/
User avatar
(iiipopes)
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 1341
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:02 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Postby (lumgimfong) » Fri Oct 08, 2021 8:45 pm

Thanks.
I have thought about that before.
The ToneStyler I am thinking of installing is true bypass on the number 10 setting. Is true bypass the same as the no load?
User avatar
(lumgimfong)
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:57 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Postby (iiipopes) » Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:31 pm

lumgimfong wrote:Thanks.
I have thought about that before.
The ToneStyler I am thinking of installing is true bypass on the number 10 setting. Is true bypass the same as the no load?

Yes. It completely opens the connection so there is nothing going to the tone capacitor through the pot to ground.
User avatar
(iiipopes)
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 1341
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:02 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Postby (lumgimfong) » Sat Oct 16, 2021 3:14 pm

Thanks!!

I have enjoyed using no tone circuit and hearing the bass full on, but I think I do also want the throaty tonal changes of the tonestyler tones (like I get with a tonestyler on my other bass) so I will try v/blend/tonestyler. And it has a true bypass setting so I can still get the full on sound like with no tone circuit at all.

I will hopefully wire up a V/blend/tonestyler harness soon. I have the parts.
User avatar
(lumgimfong)
Member
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:57 pm

Previous

Return to Rickenbacker Basses: by Joey Vasco & Tony Cabibe

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: WillyWonka and 8 guests

cron