What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Vintage, Modern, V & C series, Fretless, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

User avatar
lumgimfong
Member
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:57 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Post by lumgimfong »

Here is how it sounds with no tone pot or cap. Just volume pot and bridge HB1 first, neck HB1 second. Broken in Fatbeams.

https://soundcloud.com/user-222948482/4 ... be2689235a

Forgive me if any music starts auto playing after the bass sample. For some reason soundcloud keeps playing some songs after I listen to my sample bass tracks. Weird.
User avatar
ram
Senior Member
Posts: 3661
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 2:55 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Post by ram »

I'm liking that! Thanks!
The only thing we can perceive are our perceptions - George Berkeley
User avatar
iiipopes
Intermediate Member
Posts: 1346
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:02 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Post by iiipopes »

Have you thought about replacing one of the tone controls with a push-pull or a no-load pot so you can have wide open or treble roll-off at your option? You might at some point play something that rolling off the treble is more in keeping with the song. This also lets the instrument pass the "five-foot" test: five feet from the stage, you can't tell the instrument has been modified. And then you can always re-wire back in the original pot if you sell the instrument, keeping the push-pull or no-load pot for your next bass.
http://www.wiredguitarist.com/2017/05/0 ... -tone-pot/
User avatar
lumgimfong
Member
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:57 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Post by lumgimfong »

Thanks.
I have thought about that before.
The ToneStyler I am thinking of installing is true bypass on the number 10 setting. Is true bypass the same as the no load?
User avatar
iiipopes
Intermediate Member
Posts: 1346
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 5:02 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Post by iiipopes »

lumgimfong wrote:Thanks.
I have thought about that before.
The ToneStyler I am thinking of installing is true bypass on the number 10 setting. Is true bypass the same as the no load?
Yes. It completely opens the connection so there is nothing going to the tone capacitor through the pot to ground.
User avatar
lumgimfong
Member
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Jan 13, 2017 4:57 pm

Re: What happens if I don't use a capacitor?

Post by lumgimfong »

Thanks!!

I have enjoyed using no tone circuit and hearing the bass full on, but I think I do also want the throaty tonal changes of the tonestyler tones (like I get with a tonestyler on my other bass) so I will try v/blend/tonestyler. And it has a true bypass setting so I can still get the full on sound like with no tone circuit at all.

I will hopefully wire up a V/blend/tonestyler harness soon. I have the parts.
Post Reply

Return to “Rickenbacker Basses: by Joey Vasco & Tony Cabibe”