Page 2 of 2

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 5:56 am
by thx1955
That works ...

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 6:03 am
by phlemmy
Pete, it's your site, do as you see fit!

Thanks for having it.

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 6:16 am
by rikk
I keep forgetting about that section.

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 7:14 am
by brian
I didn't like the idea of having to log in at first for For Sale and Wanted, but after thinking about it, with the number of scams present online these days I think it is an excellent idea to require log in. Also I agree with Sean's comment.

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 7:54 am
by jwr2
wait a minute ... there is a for sale section? how long has this been there?

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 7:55 am
by toastie
Re the auction: Scam meister!!

Tested the water with a bid and got an e-mail stating price he wanted. Asked me to conclude -ex ebay - and send money to www.isolditonline.co.uk . Never heard of it and smelt rat right away. I said I'd let the auction run and that I would motor down to Brum and pick it up IN PERSON. He was having none of that so I pulled the bid. AVOID!!!!

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 8:24 am
by ken_j
Donny, you should forward those emails to [email protected]

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 8:48 am
by toastie
He's up to something, but I'm not sure I could prove it to ebay. I don't like the idea of a payment going to a third party who holds the bass: why does he not have it himself?? Anyway, anyone else bids, I'll e-mail them.

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 8:51 am
by thx1955
Donny,
The link you gave routes to a Ebay selling company. These places make their money by hosting and running auctions for other ebay members who don't want to run their own auctions.

The issue of wanting to conclude the sale off Ebay is still a violation of Ebay policy

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 9:11 am
by thx1955
Well,
If this genuine it's an opportunity for someone to own a 4080 for a very very reasonable price.

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 9:26 am
by toastie
Jim, I had a look at that site, fair enough, but I can't understand his furtiveness. He wants £1100. Looks like it's been modded, too.

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 9:32 am
by thx1955
Interesting Donny I was told $1350 + $80 (pounds) for the sale

Posted: Tue May 08, 2007 10:00 am
by toastie
My, my...his water is warm, so to speak.