Page 2 of 3
Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 5:31 am
by marc61
I think the question is : Is that the actual bass or did he just cop a photo?
I'm going to e-mail him that question.
Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 5:50 am
by ken_james
The reason I remembered the photo was I almost bought that bass from BassNW, but missed it by a few days. I found a FG V63 at the OKC guitar center and used this as a basis of price matching, GC tried to tell me that the case wasn't included, and that FG was an upcharge... I sent a letter to the GC Corporate HQ, the salesmen was latercanned for "demoing" equipment at his house for extended periods...
Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 5:51 am
by admin
It is always difficult to tell in photos like these. However, my view is that the grain looks different in these basses. Maple I haven't reflected on it sufficiently, however, I will go out on the limb and say they are different.
Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 5:55 am
by ken_james
Peter,
I hope you're right, the grain does look different, but the auction photo looks like a typical BassNW photo. There's so much fraud these days on ebay you have to be careful.
Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 6:14 am
by beatlefan
I am with Peter on this one....
IMHO, the grain is different between them. Coincidence on the photo angle?? Tough call...
I'm glad I am no longer in the market for a V63
or I would be TORN on this one!! It is beautiful...
Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 6:21 am
by ken_james
Coincidence is the religion of fools, (I've always liked that line) Maybe it's not the same bass, but it is taken from a store shot.. It's like the bogus auctions you see once in a while that use elderly instrument's photos, which are very obvious.
Posted: Mon Mar 22, 2004 8:34 am
by jnbass
very fishy...
but the bass does look nice, even if its a fraud.
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 3:16 am
by ken_james
And now it's closed. Did anyone ever hear from the seller? JH said that they made only a few JG V63's, I think it's odd that all of them have been on ebay this month.
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 4:08 am
by marc61
I got an e-mail from the seller. It seemed like a genuine sale, I'd bet she found a local cash payer and grabbed it.
As far as the jetglos I believe John said he couldn't give an exact figure but that it was "in the 10's" which I took to mean under 100.
BTW, ALL the jetglo's weren't available on Ebay this month. Mine wasn't<g>.The only time I considered selling it was when Tim's sea green was up for sale and I was thinking of "trading up". Had the auction ready to go and it actually started before I quickly deleted it.
I wonder what the total production run was for the 4001v63 anyway.
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 4:48 am
by ken_james
Good question, perhaps Kenny can dig up some info for us.
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 4:56 am
by ricosound
Yeah Marc, if you remember I hit on it and begged by email afterwards. The offer to purchase still stands if you ever want to "trade up" again. Marc, Mellisa, Kendal, anyone, are you all listening?
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 5:09 am
by ken_james
I don't know if I'll get mine, the seller on my auction is being hinky about the deal so far. It was supposed to ship Sat via FEDEX but no word from my guy as of yet.
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 5:41 am
by marc61
Kendal, that sucks.I hope you paid by paypal.You might have some recourse if things don't go well.
Wes,Sorry, but, I kinda love the jetglo now.It really needs others to go along with it rather than be moved to another family.
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 5:47 am
by ken_james
I paid with paypal but I'm hearing that they don't really protect the buyer too well. I'm going to email him today and see what the hold up is. Stay tuned
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 7:43 am
by jnbass
Kendall-
Paypal does cr_p for the buyer. They play the Sgt Shultz "I know not-ting".
The trap is that there is an insurance amount that you must select in order to get your $$$ back. If you paid out of your bank account than you could be SOL, like I was on a Sound City 120 (I used credit card).
The recent lawsuit in NY state may change that but Paypal are no pals...