1964 cream 4001S on U.K. E-Bay

Vintage, Modern, V & C series, Fretless, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

User avatar
rickengeezer
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 5:00 am

Post by rickengeezer »

The switch in selling information may have the most likely customers (in other words, us!) a little suspicious. Also, the fact that it does look so much like a Chris Squire bass is peculiar...Squire had his bass refinished to that color, and I don't think Rickenbacker made anything resembling that color in 1964. So if it is an authentic '64, it is refinished and it is hard to tell the quality of a refin job from web pictures. It is intriguing, though.
User avatar
wints
Veteran RRF member
Posts: 6481
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2001 11:21 am

Post by wints »

Over 650 people have looked at it....and no bids. I know a couple people who have e mailed the seller more than once...and heard nothing back...and this is a 3 day listing. I,ve e mailed the original seller in the U.K. to see if he sold the bass. I,ve yet to hear back from him. This could be a completely bogus listing..the last feedback for this seller was in 99...I,d seriously consider this bass if it were here in the U.S and genuinely for sale....but, I don,t think it is ...
rictified
Senior Member
Posts: 8040
Joined: Sat Apr 19, 2003 5:00 am

Post by rictified »

It has to be the same seller or at least for the original seller, both ads mention swapping for a refinished 60's Strat, too much of a coincidence.
dano

Post by dano »

I believe this to be a 4001CS, not a '64. Something very fishy going on with this bass. It was originally priced at $2500 and was dropped to $2000 B.I.N.
wkargel

Post by wkargel »

If it IS a 4001CS, it has been thoroughly T-RASHED...and certainly NOT worth the money being asked for it...!

I am thinking it is another trashed model 4001 that has a really, really bad refinish job, etc. done to it...again, not worth the money being asked...

Regards,

Bill

********************************************

[email protected]

Visit my homepage at http://www.geocities.com/wkargel
User avatar
wints
Veteran RRF member
Posts: 6481
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2001 11:21 am

Post by wints »

I,ve just received an e mail from the original seller in the U.K....He still has it...this is a fake listing. He,s going to inform e bay. I still think it could be a 64..a few close up pics will decide the issue here. I still can,t believe someone has trashed a CS this much.....
User avatar
rickengeezer
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 5:00 am

Post by rickengeezer »

Also interesting is that the most recent feedback on this seller (two complaints) is from 1999. After four years of inactivity on ebay, he suddenly decides to list a $2000 bass? Maybe one of those scam "Update your Ebay Information" emails finally worked on somebody.
User avatar
robj
Veteran RRF member
Posts: 361
Joined: Tue May 07, 2002 9:02 am

Post by robj »

Unless it was trashed with the intent to sell it as a genuine '64 which would certainly fetch a higher price than a CS I would think. This assumes of course the seller can convince potential buyers of its authenticity which apparently has been a problem.
User avatar
marc61
Senior Member
Posts: 6443
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2003 9:31 am
Contact:

Post by marc61 »

I got an e-mail from the original ebay seller. I had actually bid on the thing. Funny thing is after I asked him if it was still for sale, he never got back to me.
" It's not where you are, it's who you're with.".
Post Reply

Return to “Rickenbacker Basses: by Joey Vasco & Tony Cabibe”