Page 3 of 3

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 5:52 am
by rickengeezer
The switch in selling information may have the most likely customers (in other words, us!) a little suspicious. Also, the fact that it does look so much like a Chris Squire bass is peculiar...Squire had his bass refinished to that color, and I don't think Rickenbacker made anything resembling that color in 1964. So if it is an authentic '64, it is refinished and it is hard to tell the quality of a refin job from web pictures. It is intriguing, though.

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 8:41 am
by wints
Over 650 people have looked at it....and no bids. I know a couple people who have e mailed the seller more than once...and heard nothing back...and this is a 3 day listing. I,ve e mailed the original seller in the U.K. to see if he sold the bass. I,ve yet to hear back from him. This could be a completely bogus listing..the last feedback for this seller was in 99...I,d seriously consider this bass if it were here in the U.S and genuinely for sale....but, I don,t think it is ...

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 9:33 am
by rictified
It has to be the same seller or at least for the original seller, both ads mention swapping for a refinished 60's Strat, too much of a coincidence.

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 11:23 am
by dano
I believe this to be a 4001CS, not a '64. Something very fishy going on with this bass. It was originally priced at $2500 and was dropped to $2000 B.I.N.

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 5:21 pm
by wkargel
If it IS a 4001CS, it has been thoroughly T-RASHED...and certainly NOT worth the money being asked for it...!

I am thinking it is another trashed model 4001 that has a really, really bad refinish job, etc. done to it...again, not worth the money being asked...

Regards,

Bill

********************************************

[email protected]

Visit my homepage at http://www.geocities.com/wkargel

Posted: Tue Aug 05, 2003 11:40 pm
by wints
I,ve just received an e mail from the original seller in the U.K....He still has it...this is a fake listing. He,s going to inform e bay. I still think it could be a 64..a few close up pics will decide the issue here. I still can,t believe someone has trashed a CS this much.....

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 6:01 am
by rickengeezer
Also interesting is that the most recent feedback on this seller (two complaints) is from 1999. After four years of inactivity on ebay, he suddenly decides to list a $2000 bass? Maybe one of those scam "Update your Ebay Information" emails finally worked on somebody.

Posted: Wed Aug 06, 2003 10:13 am
by robj
Unless it was trashed with the intent to sell it as a genuine '64 which would certainly fetch a higher price than a CS I would think. This assumes of course the seller can convince potential buyers of its authenticity which apparently has been a problem.

Posted: Sun Aug 10, 2003 6:39 am
by marc61
I got an e-mail from the original ebay seller. I had actually bid on the thing. Funny thing is after I asked him if it was still for sale, he never got back to me.