Open Sesame

Putting music theory into practice
jdogric12
Rick-a-holic

Open Sesame

Post by jdogric12 »

Let's talk about bass notes. Ten years ago a friend was taking beginner bass lessons. He said his instructor told him to avoid playing open strings. For example, if you want to play a D, play the A string on the fifth fret rather than just open D.

Any thoughts on this?
sloop_john_b
Rick-a-holic

Post by sloop_john_b »

I was never taught specifically to do that - but I do it whenever I can.

I feel like I get a fatter, bassier tone, and I also feel like I have much more control over the notes - muting, duration, etc.
palmann

Post by palmann »

I second that. I also prefer not to use open strings for the same reasons.

Gruesse, Pablo
jaybic

Post by jaybic »

This is something I have often wondered about. I am a self-taught bass player. I almost exclusively try to use open strings. I cannot tell any difference in tone at all. However, I do notice that my fretting hand rarely moves when compared to other bassists I observe.
palmann

Post by palmann »

I have to add that I have very short fingers, so it's more comfortable for me to play near to the body from the 5th fret upwards.

Gruesse, Pablo
winston
Membership Admin

Post by winston »

I occasionally use open strings strictly for the effect of unfettered, albeit clean sustain. For the most part I do avoid using open strings though, because I believe that you have more control over the resonance of a fretted string.
“We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” - Albert Einstein

"You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother" - Albert Einstein
ram

Post by ram »

I use both open and not depending on the effect/sound I want and fingering involved.
The only thing we can perceive are our perceptions - George Berkeley
wints
Veteran RRF member

Post by wints »

Thankfully James Jamerson never had that advice.

'nuff said...