Page 1 of 1

And the fakes this week are....

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 6:52 am
by jeff_ulmer
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2540478265&category=4713

Univox with Ric name plate. The guy claims he's trying to list it in a way not to offend Rickenbacker... Is not "Vintage Rickenbacker 4001 bass - Ibanez Copy" as the title offensive?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2541512055&category=4713

Green burst. This one is fugly!

Hopefully both auctions will be dead soon.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 7:16 am
by dave4004
Green burst. This one is fugly!


I'd call it Hurlglo. ;)

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:12 am
by ricnvolved
Both sellers have made sure to specify that the instruments up for auction are copies, so I don't believe eBay will interfere. Not that they would anyway when you consider their non-action with the recent so-called "1968 model" 4001. However, Mr. Hall may decide to do something about the Mapleglo copy that has the genuine Rickenbacker truss-rod cover nameplate.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:13 am
by jwr2
gang green burst

or

slimeglo

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 8:40 am
by banta
Using the word "Rickenbacker" in the listing - let alone the title - should get those auctions terminated.

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 10:46 am
by dano
Both come up as invalid items now...did someone call the RIC Police?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2003 7:31 pm
by jeff_ulmer
Good. Rickenbacker routinely mines Ebay for these listings to have them removed, and just because it says "copy" in the listing doesn't make it any less an infringement of their trademarks.

Even if it doesn't say Rickenbacker, it is a violation if the instrument is using one of their registered body shapes.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:32 am
by dano
I seen a fake that started at like $599 with buy it now for $799. What are these people smoking?

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:48 am
by paul_yan
Definitely not Mary Jane.
Gotta be something stronger that bends and warps their common sense.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 4:53 am
by jeff_ulmer
You'll notice that many of these folks know they aren't supposed to be selling them on Ebay, and word their ads to try to circumvent the auction being shut down. These aren't innocents here.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 7:08 am
by doctorwho
Is this a 'faker?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2541852850&category=2384

My impression is that it's a fake with some RIC parts added.

Notice that this seller has refrained from using "Rickenbacker" in the title or text. Tricky!

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 7:43 am
by rictified
He has said that the pickups were Rickenbacker, my impression is that maybe this is a hot one with out a serial number.

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:21 pm
by jeff_ulmer
Looks fake to me. The machine heads are wrong, the headstock shape is wrong, the plastic is too white, and no serial number...