Page 1 of 2

Another round of eBay scams - CAVEAT EMPTOR!

Posted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 10:40 pm
by doctorwho
Seller ID digitaldirect4u has had his/her/its account hijacked - DO NOT FALL FOR THESE.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-1968-RICKENBACKER-36012-SUPER-CLEAN-EXCELLENT_W0QQitemZ260104307342QQihZ016QQcategoryZ20143QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Image

Image

eBay and AOL have been duly notified.

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 4:07 am
by leftybass
Yeah...he was doing this with a bunch of Martin acoustics too....

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:49 am
by s4001
I've seen a few

DO NOT USE CONTACT SELLER!!! EMAIL ME DIRECT AT [email protected]!!!!!

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:59 am
by leesh
What is the scam exactly? He'll tell you where to find the guitar for $11?

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 10:48 am
by doctorwho
No, he/she/it will try to get you to send money by wire transfer or some other non-secure form, and then abscond with the money with no guitar being sent. The scammer had something like three pages of eclectic items for sale. One other aspect is that all the auctions are 1-day only, the scammer assuming (correctly) that eBay isn't watching closely enough in the short term for these.

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 3:51 pm
by beatlefreak
It's been removed.

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2007 8:58 pm
by doctorwho
Only to be replaced by another bunch:

Image

This time, User ID khakshouy was the one hijacked. No Ricks in this group, though, mainly Fenders and Martins - well, the guitars, that is ... the scammer posted over 140 items!

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 5:08 pm
by doctorwho
There was another round earlier today.

Posted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 6:57 pm
by doctorwho
And another tonight; I hope nobody here has bid on this one:

http://cgi.ebay.com/BRAND-NEW-RICKENBACKER-360-6-MAPLEGLO-GUITAR-WITH-CASE_W0QQitemZ330106597491QQihZ014QQcategoryZ41439QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

Image

Yes, the SOB is using pictures stolen from a closed auction. Typical scam wording:

Image

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:53 pm
by doctorwho
Another tonight, with RIC basses, by hijacked User ID broken-s-ranch:

Image

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:18 pm
by brammy
holy cow, where's Telly Savalas when you really need him?

Posted: Sun Apr 08, 2007 8:27 pm
by brammy
the same bass is listed twice:
Image
caveat emptor indeeed.

Posted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 12:34 pm
by doctorwho
What bothers me about these last ones is that they had accrued a number of bids by the time I had seen and reported them to eBay. The bidders are thus open to further scam attempts by the 'seller' through eBay's system ... an astute bidder might not fall for other scams (e.g., might notice that the link provided is written as one URL but is actually pointing to a different URL), but the less-than-careful bidder might click on something they shouldn't.

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 7:52 am
by studiotwosession
Anyone complete an Ebay transaction with, say a music store in the area of the item being sold, acting as an intermediary between the buyer and the seller?

Posted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:01 pm
by octagon
Wow,I was watching the 360MG auction.I was going to ask the seller why he was using photos from another auction.Somebody won that(or got scammed)for $875.00.