Page 1 of 3

Faker at CME?

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:44 am
by rick_ovic
I thought these guys were authorized RIC dealers? What are they doing with this thing in stock??

http://www.gbase.com/Stores/Gear/GearDetails.aspx?Item=1692987

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 1:51 am
by dswp
CME's reputation speaks for itself.

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:17 am
by rickcrazy
Uh-oh.Image

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 2:42 am
by elysrand
Of all the US domestic dealers, I am least surprised to see CME slumming with a faker. I can't wait to see how fast they take it down off gbase once JH makes that "umm, excuse me but what the he77 were you thinking, now Cease and Desist..." phone call and faxed letter followup. Image

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:09 am
by chronictown
All things considered, that's one of the "better" copies I've seen, and probably would have fooled me way back when I was clueless and wandering from shop to shop with my summer earnings, only knowing that I HAD to have a Rickenbacker.

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:53 am
by beatlefreak
With practices like these, why does RIC keep them on their authorized dealer list?

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:01 am
by ajish4
Image

PULL HIS DEALERSHIP, PULL IT....PULL IT!

LOL.....

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:07 am
by headbanger
R tail piece and Rick trussrod cover! In a store that's an authorised dealer? Wow, that's poor judgement on someone's behalf

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:13 am
by bassduke49
Either that, or they just don't know it's a faker. Maybe they don't have experts there (which is almost as bad as knowingly trying to sell a faker). CME's rep is steadily going downhill.

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:16 am
by phlemmy
They know it's a faker. "MISC. - Rickenbacker Copy" in the title listing.

CME=Idiots

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:20 am
by robbo63
It's posted on gbase as "MISC. - Rickenbacker Copy", so they know. It's one thing to try to sell a Rick-inspired guitar with similar look, but to have the R tailpiece and the TRC really does put it into counterfeit goods territory. Hope someone has alerted RIC.

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:14 pm
by musicfan37
Wow! The nerve. Are the deliberately trying to lose their dealership?

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:25 pm
by sloop_john_b
I wonder if they sculpted this themselves, completely out of bondo.

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:37 pm
by jingle_jangle
Woodgrain Bondo is the hot ticket!

Posted: Mon Jul 02, 2007 7:49 pm
by mfb
This is not the only one doing it, but it baffles me as to why these sort of guys keep on their merry way ... whereas the dudes on eBay get dumped on quickly.

If you look on the net, for starters (and it doesn't take much), you see quite a few. I don't particularly think it is the right thing to do on an internet public forum such as this one, to print these things for all and sundry to see, especially in view of the fact that you are doing it under your own name.

I would tend to think that there could be many varied reasons as to why a dealer will advertise a copy of anything - ignorance could be one.

It really is Rickenbacker and their lawyers that should be searching for and taking care of these violations and I think that Rickenbacker has indeed indicated somewhere that any such details should be made known to them via correspondence.

If there is a need by members of this forum to post these types of links and discuss them, I would suggest it be made under a specific topic, maybe called "fakes and scams", accessible only to registered members of the forum.

My opinion, of course, which could be subject to review and change any second of any day, without notice.Image