Why I am a YES fan

The genius of Chris Squire
phlemmy

Why I am a YES fan

Post by phlemmy »

Steve Howe, Bill Bruford, Rick Wakeman and later the Drama album. Growing up a drummer, I loved listening to Bruford, much more so than Alan White's stiff style. He just never seemed to flow to me.

I like most of their stuff up to and including 90125, but Drama was the one that really shined for me and is my favorite by them. Trevor's voice was very fitting. My other faves would be Close to the Edge, Going for the One, Tormato, Fragile and 90125.

It was never about Chris Squire for me, not even after I started playing bass. While I respect his mark on the instrument, he's not one of my favorites although I love Fish Out of Water...but again, not because of the bass.

I do wish I could have caught them live pre-90125. But finally getting to see Steve Howe live twice in the last decade has been great.
johnallg
Rick-a-holic

Post by johnallg »

Their music reaches into the fibers of my being. It is part of me, connects very easily to my soul, and was that way from the start when I found TYA, then YES and TAAW, then every album since.

For me, GFTO, Tormato, and the 80s were, not hit or miss, but some songs just didn't ring for me. But then we had Awaken, Future Times, and Silent Wings of Freedom on them. I wonder what DKTW would have been with Chris' lyrics....

Drama, Tales, Relayer, CTTE, Talk, and TYA all stand out from the rest.
phlemmy

Post by phlemmy »

ooooo...I forgot about Relayer. Cheers!
johnallg
Rick-a-holic

Post by johnallg »

It is amazing how many of us here have posted really liking Drama. With Geoff and Trevor replacing Jon and Rick and the flack Yes took for that, the album was not very well received but has very good works on it. I've always wished "Man In A White Car" was developed into a full song - great melody/idea. And "Run Through The Light" is awesome - has an "Only A Northern Song" feel to it.
cheyenne
Veteran RRF member

Post by cheyenne »