Schoenberg & dodecaphony; or, How I Need to Stop Worrying...

Putting music theory into practice
sloop_john_b
Rick-a-holic

Schoenberg & dodecaphony; or, How I Need to Stop Worrying...

Post by sloop_john_b »

As some of you may know, i'm a music major in college and nearing the end of my tenure there. That means that coming soon will be - you guessed it - my "Senior Recital"! Every graduating music major has to have one.

But interestingly, mine will be a first at my school, in that I won't be performing a song or playing/singing a single note, for that matter. Instead, my recital will be several of my compositions, performed by far-more-talented-than-I students. I've been studying composition at school for about two years now, and the recital will make for an interesting timeline - since some music will be performed that I wrote very early on in my studies, it'll show just how my music has progressed over that time (a LOT).

I have to admit though, that i'm slightly worried about how my music going to be received. I *know* this is going to come off as at least slightly egotistical, but I feel as if i've been writing above most casual music listeners, who don't understand what it is to be immersed in Arnold Schoenberg or to painstakingly analyze the work of Ralph Vaughan Williams. There will be a lot of music people there who will "get it", but what about everybody else?