Page 1 of 2

Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:51 am
by rickc
I've been looking around for a truss rod cover to fit a basket case 330 project, and I found this auction by eBay member "deute.drechsler" in Italy:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0267750879

I'm not knowledgeable enough to tell if a TRC is legit from a picture, but something that worries me about this one is the seller has listed four TRCs on eBay in the last two weeks. Does this raise a red flag for anyone else? Can any of the experts on this forum tell if this TRC is legit from the picture? Any advice much appreciated.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 10:57 am
by leftyguitars
This one looks to be legit, however should you win the auction you may well receive something that bears no resemblance to what you see in the photo.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:28 am
by grazioso
this is reappearing auction every once in two weeks or so - so - caution! same pictures same legend.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:55 am
by phlemmy
i certinaly wouldn't trust it.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:44 pm
by 1965
Thing is, it's just a photo. It wouldn't be hard for fake-TRC sellers put up a real photo and then ship a fake. In the end, most people probably wouldn't even notice the difference.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 4:04 pm
by Woodie
Forgive my ignorance, but are people truly counterfeiting TRC's with raised letters? In Florence, no less?

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:01 pm
by leftyguitars
Woodie wrote:Forgive my ignorance, but are people truly counterfeiting TRC's with raised letters? In Florence, no less?
See post number two above.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:13 pm
by fireglo67
Woodie wrote:Forgive my ignorance, but are people truly counterfeiting TRC's with raised letters? In Florence, no less?
Oh yes, at $50 to $100 a pop it's a very lucrative business.

I want, and can easily get hold of a black pickguard for my Jetglo 360/12, so I'm also really tempted to buy a fake black TRC to match as Ric make it nigh impossible to get hold of the real thing.

Supply and demand......

I've no intention of ever selling my Rics so it's purely from an aesthetical point of view.

An all black 360/12..... MMmmmm.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:22 pm
by leftyguitars
I have an all black 4003s5LH (100% original and genuine) :D ...
Jetglo comp.jpg

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:30 pm
by fireglo67
leftyguitars wrote:I have an all black 4003s5LH (100% original and genuine) :D ...
Jetglo comp.jpg
Awesome. Looks like a stealth bomber!

I've always loved Paul Wellers all black 330, so if I can make my 360/12 all black and just as cool for under £100 then I'm having it. I'd love to buy the real thing from Rickenbacker but if they don't make it available, then like many others, I'm going to look elsewhere.

Peter, a question.

620/6 in Blueburst or Midnight blue, both the same price, which do you go for?

I'm liking the blueburst.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:39 pm
by leftyguitars
I like both colours personally. Just take the one that you like most and plays the best. :)

Regarding the TRC don't spoil a Rolls Royce by putting a fake Flying Lady on it. Black TRC's do become available on the forum here, just put up a 'want' post.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:57 pm
by fireglo67
leftyguitars wrote:I like both colours personally. Just take the one that you like most and plays the best. :)

Regarding the TRC don't spoil a Rolls Royce buy putting a fake Flying Lady on it. Black TRC's do become available on the forum here, just put up a 'want' post.
I see what you mean Peter. But for the untrained eye the difference between $25 and $150 talks volumes.

If I ever did have a funny turn and decided to sell the 360, I would put all the original stuff back on it anyway. (and put the dodgy stuff on my new guitar!) :)

As I said, on stage it's all about my vanity and aesthetics. :)

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 9:49 pm
by rickc
Thanks guys for all the input. I think I'll steer clear of the auction.

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:15 am
by leftyguitars

Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?

Posted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:50 am
by janglerocker
I understood that RIC would trade you black to white or white to black. No gold for white or black, though.

Can someone please confirm or refute.