A Rut

Putting music theory into practice
Scastles

A Rut

Post by Scastles »

Recently I feel like my playing has fallen into a rut. No real progession in the creative process or expansion in my playing. The only thing I could compare it to would be writers block. Just a bunch of blank pages, but the pages are my guitars. I'm a mediocre player, self taught and no whiz at reading music. Any ideas of what I could or should do? Maybe it's just my perception of things right now, or maybe I'm pressing.
kiramdear
RRF Moderator

Re: A Rut

Post by kiramdear »

Do some musical calisthenics to get your blood going again, Stan.

Get that chord book from the favorite album you've always wished you'd learned, and learn some new old songs. I watch a lot of music videos on youtube to try to cop the hand positions for the parts I want to learn. As long as you keep bringing fresh new material into your repertoire, even if it's old songs, you'll keep the hinges oiled. A friend of mine says everybody should know 200 cover songs before they hit the stage.
If you can find some buddies to fool around with that's always a fun way to keep your chops up, but a good playing partner is hard to find.
Do some recording, even low-fi, of yourself and listen closely to it. Try to improve the parts you already know and to invent the new ones that you want to hear as you listen to yourself.
Any excuse you can think of to keep your hands on your guitar is a good one.
Maybe just get out of your normal routine for an afternoon, go somewhere for no reason, strum a little, and listen to the echoes in your head.

All these things work for me :D
All I wanna do is rock!
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Stan: I would have three suggestions.

First, I would find a couple of other players with similar interests which often times pushes the envelope.