Page 1 of 2
Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:22 pm
by ric330
http://cgi.ebay.com/1962-RICKENBACKER-3 ... 7C294%3A50
Buy It Now at $1300.00 ???
The feedback is real good for this guy but something is weird...That headstock seems way too wide for a 1962. The price is stupid low.
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:25 pm
by kiramdear
Red flag #2: The BIN price is only shown on an image file, not in text.
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:28 pm
by ric330
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:29 pm
by fireglo67
As mentioned many times before, this is a scam.
Always avoid anything that asks you to email and not to bid.
Ignore the sellers details, these poeple hijack other peoples accounts with good feedback, advertise the item with a short listing time (as here), and always want you to email them and not to bid.
If the price is too good to be true, it usually is. $1300 for this guitar? It's so ridiculous it's funny.
i'm a pacifist, but these people should be shot.
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:33 pm
by fireglo67
BTW, the guitar is beautiful, it may even belong to someone on this forum, the old ones usually do.
Oh, and that is an old Olivias photo they've used, you can tell by the background.
I love the way the RRF calendar gets a mention too.

Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:36 pm
by xpitt
This kind of layout showed up several times, with different RICs, the buy it now price is only in the text, and time is only running for a day, sometime it vanished within a few hours, I wouldn't jump on that kind of weird offer

Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:38 pm
by fireglo67
Look at all the other musical instruments he's selling.
Every one for $1300.
He/she must have about $1 million worth of gear there.
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:41 pm
by badeggs
This guy might as well start his listing with "THIS IS A SCAM" - he didn't even attempt to make it look legit!
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:42 pm
by winston
The worst part is that ebay's report a listing feature is not currently working.

Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:43 pm
by fireglo67
winston wrote:The worst part is that ebay's report a listing feature is not currently working.

It's probably been hacked........

Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:48 pm
by winston
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:04 pm
by cjj
And the final set of red flags and strobes is that if you go to the seller's store, you see various clothing listings, then a bunch of vintage instruments, all with the same buy it now image and email junk.
Total scam.
Edit: I might have gotten it reported, on this listing, it wouldn't give me any report selection reasons, but on another of these items it did let me select. I entered this item number and did a submit, then got a "page not available". Hopefully something went in...
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:08 pm
by libratune
winston wrote:The worst part is that ebay's report a listing feature is not currently working.

It's working now and I've reported the scam to eBay.
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:20 pm
by opticnerve
libratune wrote:winston wrote:The worst part is that ebay's report a listing feature is not currently working.

It's working now and I've reported the scam to eBay.
+1
Re: Could this be the real deal???
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 3:26 pm
by 1965