Page 1 of 1

Is this Legit??

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 4:10 pm
by MyBBruce
http://boston.craigslist.org/bmw/msg/2090464824.html

I emailed the person haven't hear back..Just seems to cheap..

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:11 pm
by MyBBruce
Everyone wants it for themselves

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:12 pm
by MyBBruce
I just paid for it..Has anyone else done the same???

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:21 pm
by cjj
Hard to say if it's legit, fantastic deals do come along from time to time. And Craig's list is full of scams.

Hopefully, you've come across one of the former and not the latter. Let us know how it goes...

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 5:26 pm
by winston
It seems awfully cheap...........but fingers crossed for you.

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:48 pm
by MyBBruce
winston wrote:It seems awfully cheap...........but fingers crossed for you.
Actually I just recieved an email from paypal. The address I sent the payment to has to cases in resolution. They held up my payment going and have asked me to call. I'll keep you posted

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 6:57 pm
by Grey
MyBBruce wrote:
winston wrote:It seems awfully cheap...........but fingers crossed for you.
Actually I just recieved an email from paypal. The address I sent the payment to has to cases in resolution. They held up my payment going and have asked me to call. I'll keep you posted
They have two unresolved cases and you're still seriously considering going through on this deal? Also, I thought CL deals were handled locally. Otherwise you can't even know that the pictures actually show what you're getting. Then you become lucky PayPal dispute number 3.

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:18 pm
by MyBBruce
I wasn't worried about that. Paypal stopped the deal. I called and they recommended I not buy it. So I didn't. I have bout 15 guitars off Craigslist. I didn't have a single problem with any transaction. I think for the most part people are honest. So lie to you, but most are decent people. I believe if you think you'll get screwed you probably will.

I normally do some research and ask questions. You never know for sure till you get what you bought. There's a 620 on ebay right now. Looked like a good guitar for 1100.00. Maybe it is. I'd gotten 2 responses to my questions right away. Than I punched in the serial and it comes back invalid. I messaged the Seller several hours ago. Still no response.. Apparently the bidders on the auction haven't done that ..So even ebay can be un-safe..

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 10:47 am
by ken_j
CL posting deleted.

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:11 pm
by tomt3
How do you "punch in" a serial number to check if its valid. I didn't know you could do that.

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 7:19 pm
by cjj
Well, on the RIC corporate site, you can go here:
http://www.rickenbacker.com/service_serials.asp

This will decode it and give you a year/month of manufacture, but it doesn't actually verify that an instrument ever existed with that serial or what it originally was...

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:42 am
by tomt3
Very cool. I just found out my 360v64 was manufactured in January 1997. Do other brands have links like this as well?

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:44 am
by Clint
MyBBruce wrote: I believe if you think you'll get screwed you probably will.
I really don't want to turn this into any kind of ethical or philosophical debate. I'm just not sure how much milage one can get out of this philosophy.

Re: Is this Legit??

Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2010 4:56 pm
by MyBBruce
Clint wrote:
MyBBruce wrote: I believe if you think you'll get screwed you probably will.
I really don't want to turn this into any kind of ethical or philosophical debate. I'm just not sure how much milage one can get out of this philosophy.
Nothing to really debate. I chose to give people the benefit of the doubt first. It's worked quite well.