Strat String/Set Up Recommendations

Setup, repair and restoration of Rickenbacker Instruments

Moderator: jingle_jangle

NFB-418

Strat String/Set Up Recommendations

Post by NFB-418 »

I'm not an electric (6 string) guitar guy (I'm a bassist who dabbles), but I inherited a 2001 Fender American Strat and decided to restring it a week ago. I'm not sure certain what kind of strings I pulled off of it, but I know they were flats and possibly D'Addario since they had colored ball ends.

Anyway, I figured I would put the recommended strings on which are Fender Silver Bullets 3250L (.009-.042). Well, that was a HUGE mistake. I have fret buzz like nobody's business. I made a few truss rod adjustments over a couple days and I still have considerable buzzing. Then I decided to raise the bridge saddles to see if it would alleviate the problem. It did not.

Is it possible that I'm using strings which are too light? Any recommendations of which strings might work better? I've loosened the truss rod and raised the bridge saddles about as far as I'm comfortable doing. Since I've only done set up work on my Ric bass and have little experience working on electric guitars, I'm hoping you all can give me some advice. Thanks!
“'What was that note?' I told him it was a B natural, the third of G dominant 7 going back to C minor, and I can't talk while I'm playing so don't ask me any more questions." - Ron Carter to Miles Davis
analogpackrat

Re: Strat String/Set Up Recommendations

Post by analogpackrat »

It seems like you had a floating tremolo setup and now you've reduced the overall string tension so the bridge is decked. This will mess up intonation (everything will tend to be flat), action (too low), etc. Changing string gauge (or type) on a Strat with a floating bridge can be a frustrating experience the first time you deal with it.