Bringing guitars into China

Reports from China
nikar77

Bringing guitars into China

Post by nikar77 »

Hi first post. My name is Kiran and I'm living in the UAE. I am heading to London next week and pick up my midnight blue 330. I am moving to China in August and just starting to investigate what I can and cant take. I've heard there are problems with bringing in electronic equipment. Will I have any issues bringing in my guitar. I'm moving to Guangzhou so hopefully I'll add to my small Ibanez collection while 'm there as well.
johnhall
RIC

Re: Bringing guitars into China

Post by johnhall »

I have no experience with this so I can't say if there's a problem or not. However, I did want to comment how ironic that would be . . .

Most likely it's with regard to powered electronic devices, which might require some national safety inspection authority to certify it. It's the same in many areas of the US where UL inspection is mandatory, CSA in Canada, DIN in Germany, etc. However, given that a guitar produces a fraction of the amount of power that the tiniest flashlight does, this should not be an issue but of course in China, one can never know anything for sure!

You might want to have the owner's manual handy (or download one from the official site) so that you can point to the CE sticker on the back page; that seems to be generally recognized worldwide, even though it's strictly European.
paul_yan
RRF Consultant

Post by paul_yan »

What John said is totally correct, Kiran, and welcome to the forum. :D