Page 1 of 2
Is this one legit?
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:51 pm
by RickyBubba
I'm still learning, and a few things about this one make me go hmmm.....like the fairly dark fretboard.
Maybe lighting, maybe a refin? Just doesn't all look right.....but I'm still a learnin'.....
And no, I'm not interested in this one, so have at it!
http://www.ebay.com/itm/1974-Rickenback ... 589b863da2
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:04 pm
by simer4001
He certainly is apologizing for all the "confusion".
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:06 pm
by weemac
It looks real but it has been refretted..
Eden.
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:19 pm
by BAD RONBO, KiLLeR DWaRfS
the fretboard inlays are to sharp on the corners. should be more rounded. i have a '73 inlay and my '75 here and they are rounded. but then, who knows.
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 10:40 pm
by jps
This one is a current CI in the register, I saw it in there a few days ago. I believe it to be a faker so I was surprised to find it in the register as a real Rick.
http://www.rickresource.com/register/vi ... 6order%3D7
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:15 pm
by weemac
H'mm it was just added to give it some sort of credibility by the look of it. I see the serial does not match the rest of its specs.
On closer observation it looks to be fake with a genuine trc, serial plate and possibly neck pickup..
The strap bolt position on the top horn looks to be in the wrong position (and the wrong type), wrong machines and the bridge could be fake too (I cant get a good look at the holes)
Him Fake, me thinks now..
Eden.
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:16 pm
by sloop_john_b
Fake.
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:19 pm
by rickyfricky
The numbers on the jackplate look odd. Especially the 8's.
Caveat emptor!

Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:33 am
by RickyBubba
Glad ya'll agree....I guess I have been learnin' some stuff. There were a couple of Corsair fakers last week, and one looked much more geninue than this...but they were listed as fakers. Amazed they even stayed to complete.
I'll eventually snag a 4001, but gotta do some savin' up...and more learnin'!
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 10:03 am
by vulcan_creedler
I can't quite see for 100% certainty, but it looks like there IS binding under the bridge. If so, its a faker!
Also - something about the tailpiece doen't seem right. (The part below the mute bolt, where it starts to taper seems a bit too sharp)
I reckon it's a 20ft bargepole job!
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 10:51 am
by cjj
vulcan_creedler wrote:I can't quite see for 100% certainty, but it looks like there IS binding under the bridge. If so, its a faker!
Also - something about the tailpiece doen't seem right. (The part below the mute bolt, where it starts to taper seems a bit too sharp)
I reckon it's a 20ft bargepole job!
Yes, I agree, several things don't look right, but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:13 am
by vulcan_creedler
cjj wrote: but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...
2-fullsize.jpg
hmm - yes - with the contrast cranked up, it does look likes binding stops.
I'll email the seller, and ask for a picture!
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:17 am
by badeggs
I...don't know. Though the photos are pretty dark, the jackplate looks okay, as do the TRC, the tailpiece (correct string-hole shape from what I can tell), the guard looks like the correct plexiglas. The fretboard is a little dark but again it could just be bad lighting/lousy photos. The stripe doesn't have that "too fat" look that all fakers have. The inlays aren't wildly colored or too shiny like fakers and they have rounded corners, they look correct. The binding appears to stop under the tailpiece. You can see green peeking out on the edges of the treble pickup...even the knobs are right. It's been refretted and the strap bolts were replaced.
The only red flag I see are those super-phony Grovers which you usually only find on fakers.
Am I missing something obvious here? It looks like a legit 74, 75 to me...or at the very least a fake with nearly all genuine parts on it.
Still, why take a chance when undeniably legit ones are all over ebay, right?
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:31 am
by vulcan_creedler
vulcan_creedler wrote:cjj wrote: but I do think the binding has a gap at the end of the body. Still a bit hard to tell, but adjusting the brightness and contrast a bit, the binding does appear to stop near the corners of the tailpiece...
2-fullsize.jpg
hmm - yes - with the contrast cranked up, it does look likes binding stops.
I'll email the seller, and ask for a picture!
And the response to my request:
"Thanks! Unfortunately I can't get a pic to you today, I am out of town for business until tomorrow and the auction will end before I can get the picture. I can tell you though that it plays awesome."
BTW - the jack plate is on upside down too, not that that makes it a faker!
Re: Is this one legit?
Posted: Fri Feb 08, 2013 11:46 am
by badeggs
vulcan_creedler wrote:BTW - the jack plate is on upside down too, not that that makes it a faker!
Ha, didn't even notice that!
"I can tell you though that it plays awesome." Well, that's a relief...