New Rick Owner - not so happy so far....

Vintage, Modern, V & C Series, Signature & Special Editions

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

raketenmann

New Rick Owner - not so happy so far....

Post by raketenmann »

Hey there!

I am very new to Rick guitars and own a 330 from 1994 just since last summer.

I really like to style and the feel of the guitar. I wasn't happy with the electric sound: The sounds were muddy. So I wired the volumes pots back to normal (not reversed) and left out the tone knobs and also the blend knob. This had a hughe impact and the guitar sound much ricky and is brighter.

Second thing I don't like is the bridge / Tailpiece construciton. I installed a mastery bridge and really hoped to get better intonation out of it. Somhow it does, but somehow I'm still not happy with it. I think the main problem is not the bridge itself, rather that the 330 just has such a tiny break angle on the bridge ant therefore the downward pressure onto the saddles is very tiny. Because I like playing thicker gauges, this casues problems: on the 3rd string ehwn installing for example a .019 string, this string ois so thick and has so much tension by itself, that tuned to pitch the string sounds completely choked and the part of the string between tailpiece and bridge resonates very loudly and works "against" the string resonance. It seems that the striong touches the saddle on multiple locations within the saddle. If I replace the 3rd string with a wound 3rd all gets better, but somehow I would like to figure out if there are other hacks to get this problem solved. Noone of you guys having these problems? Should I get the original bridge with the slotted saddles back on? Soundwise, I really like the Mastery, makes the guitar sound much fuller and has more sustain. well.... except for the 3rd string.

Happy for all the comments and ideas!
maxwell

Re: New Rick Owner - not so happy so far....

Post by maxwell »