Page 1 of 1

Is this a fake?

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 4:59 am
by haw
Hi everyone,
Not that I have the money at the moment but I saw this and was immediately struck by the wood on the headstock:
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3710857635&category=4713
Surely, a real Rick would have the wings evenly matched?
Only reason I think this is because my, ahem, copy, has a similar arrangement up top.
What does everyone else think?

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 6:15 am
by jwr2
Yep ... that's a real early 80's 4003 ... back then the neck was made out of 2 pieces of wood that's what you are seeing ... if you could see it in person you would see the 2 pieces of wood and to equal headwings ...

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 8:11 am
by jnbass
this seller needs to have Master Yan photo his bass.

Then it gets the big bucks.

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 9:47 am
by rickcrazy
I'll say.
Meanwhile here's two shots of the 4003.
Image
Image
It is legit. Not exactly dead mint, though.

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 10:21 am
by ken_james
Holy ****! I think that it had to be jetglo or something other than MG.

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 11:25 am
by silagyi
I don't know, I see some flame in that body.

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 6:35 pm
by atomic_punk
Just FYI, this bass has been listed 3 times and did not sell, and it is now selling under a new username. I would be wary of it, as it seems most Ebayers are since it has no bids at this time.

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 7:02 pm
by jwr2
I think the only thing "wrong" with it is that it is an early 80's 4003 ... some ric players shy away from those ....

I only buy basses from 1986 or later ... I prefer the new truss rod system ... but the 60's, 70's, and early 80's Rics are fine basses ... just a little harder to work on ...

Posted: Sat Mar 13, 2004 10:39 pm
by iamthebassman
I bought my '80 4003LH new and have never had to adjust the neck. The bass averages 8 gigs a month, AND I live in Texas where the weather changes every day(unless it's summer).