Page 1 of 2
Juicy '73 Fireglo on eBay
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 10:49 am
by bassduke49
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 11:44 am
by marc67
Now thats a nice looking bass!
What do you say, Ilan? We could paint it Azureglo

Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:04 pm
by anndra
How very odd, indeed.
That's the EXACT same bass for sale in England at the Vintage & Rare website for the princely sum of £2500 (approx $4500)
Have a look for yourself -
http://www.vintageandrareguitars.com/index.cfm?method=site.product_list&category_id=36&open_nav=36
Second item down - just click the link then click on the picture to have it enlarged.
Coincidence? Or that the eBay dude is just using their pic or...something more suspicious?
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:07 pm
by jaymi
That does not look good. Description matches and everything. Somebody needs to talk to this guy...
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 3:40 pm
by atomic_punk
I emailed him and asked:
This bass is also listed here:
http://www.vintageandrareguitars.com/index.cfm?method=site.product_list&category_id=36&open_nav=36
Same description and pictures. Care to explain?
Steve
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:05 pm
by rickfan60
I just asked him the same question.
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 4:09 pm
by atomic_punk
The Rickenbacker posse is on the case!! Scammers beware!!!!!!!
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 5:01 pm
by rickfan60
Hey, let's give him a hard time. I really hate fraud.
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 7:59 pm
by rickfan60
Here is the response I received..........
You asked:
"Your item is also currently being offered by a guitar shop in the UK. The pictures and description match yours pretty much exactly. Can you explain this? Here is the link to the site
http://www.vintageandrareguitars.com/index.cfm?method=site.product_list&category_id=36&open_nav=36"
Yes it is the same bass. I own it now. It was a gift that I do not need. E-mail the shop and they will tell you where it is. They were to remove the internet ad. Sorry for the confusion. Yes my freind did pay 3500 euro. convert it!
Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:11 pm
by atomic_punk
Who gives someone a gift like that, and who does not NEED IT?

Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 pm
by rickfan60
Fair questions Steven. It boggles the mind.........
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 2:51 am
by marc67
Not so appealing anymore...
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 2:59 am
by anndra
Well, well, well...
I called Vintage & Rare and they confirm it was indeed sold and shipped to Illinois and that it IS the same bass!
And - tellingly - they are amazed that a bass of this quality is up for resale so soon after they sold it themselves.
They advise that that bass is in 'stunning' nick for it's age and whoever wins the auction will be absolutely delighted.
I wonder if I can convince the guy to ship it all the way back to Blighty?
Incidentally (and anecdotally) - the guy who bought it from Vintage & Rare apparently purchased if for a freind who had his bass stolen!
Why don't I have freinds like that? Indeed, why have I never had a freind like that?

Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 3:04 am
by anndra
Caveat emptor.
I don't suppose that the details from Vintage & Rare prove that this ISN'T a dodgy auction. But, the stories certainly tie up accurately.
I really find it difficult to imagine getting such an outrageously generous gift then selling it on as it isn't 'needed'.
Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2004 4:40 am
by beatlefan
Yeah, this one has "danger" written all over it....
I will not bid on this one.....