What Makes a Song a Hit

Putting music theory into practice
winston
Membership Admin

What Makes a Song a Hit

Post by winston »

I am a technical writer as some of you already know, amongst other marketable skills I am also a management and communications consultant.

However, just as important to me at least, I am also a songwriter and a musician.

I am curious to hear from forum members on the topic of what makes a song a hit?

What is it that makes people want to buy certain pieces of music? Let's start with the basics of songwriting and move on to credibility as an artist, musical arrangement, recording, production, marketing and promotion.

I would like to hear your ideas supported by examples of music that has struck a chord with you and the reason why.
“We can't solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them.” - Albert Einstein

"You do not really understand something unless you can explain it to your grandmother" - Albert Einstein
admin
Site Admin

Post by admin »

Brian: A great topic for discussion here. For me, a great vocal hook and good harmony lines are essential. To be honest, at times I have missed great lyrics because my right brain was not swept away by the melody. Almost all of the Beatles' music is illustrative of these features.

While some of the early Rolling Stones music was fresh as time when by, I drifted away from their music as it did not have the melodies and harmonies that I enjoyed. What kept me lurking, however, was some of the Stones' guitar riffs which were very catchy. Honky Tonk Women and Brown Sugar are good examples. Mediocre vocals but simply captivating guitar work that pulled me in.