360/12 v64 and challenges with slim neck

Modern years of Rickenbacker Guitars from 1984 to the present

Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4

tallville

360/12 v64 and challenges with slim neck

Post by tallville »

Help! I need somebody! Help! I am a semi-beginner guitarist (playing around 2 years) with large long hands and fingers (I'm 6' 6"). I am in love with Rickenbacker guitars. I have two awesome Ricks--a 650E Excalibur and a fireglo 360/12 v64. The 650E has great tone and sustain and good playability for me because of the wider neck.

The 360/12 v64 looks wonderful and sounds heavenly, especially in the stereo mode through my 2 Fender tube amps (70s Champ and mid 80s Super Champ). I put on new Ernie Ball 9s and had it intonated by a Rick dealer. It is truly one of the most beautiful guitars ever made.

But that beautiful slim neck is a challenge for these large fingers and hands. I also have slight nerve damage in my index and long finger (in the tips) on my left hand which makes chording a little harder.

I also have a Dano 12 which was very cheaply acquired. Obviously, it does not begin to hold a candle to the 360/12 v64, but practically speaking, it is much easier for me to play and sounds ok with some compression/sustainer and a sometimes a little chorus. I definitely don't need to have two 12 string guitars.

My question is that practically speaking , the Dano 12 string is a lot easier for me to play at this time. Is there any advice for this dilemma? Maybe putting on 8s? I assume that as I get better at playing guitar, the slim neck will no longer be a challenge. I would love to be able to play the Rick without bumping into the next string when I am playing. I know that all of you love Ricks also, so thanks for any advice/suggestions that you may have.
markthemd
Veteran RRF member

Post by markthemd »

The gauge of string is not what makes the guitar play easy ...this is almost ONLY true on electric 12 strings.

Your guitar needs to have