Any advice on a new car?

Off Topic discussion forum

Moderators: ajish4, cjj

wormdiet
Intermediate Member

Any advice on a new car?

Post by wormdiet »

So I woke up thursday morning, went through my morning routine, walked outside to drive to school (I'm a high school teacher) and my car is. .. .gone! Vanished. Apparently stolen.

It was a '95 Honda Civic with some cosmetic "imperfections." If it is not located within 30 days, the insurance company will give me the bluebook value. (COnservatively, $1-1.5k)

If you had a new public school teachers' salary and needed a new car, what would you buy?
"The only worthwhile conquests are those wrested from ignorance"
-Napoleon
apollo11
Intermediate Member

Post by apollo11 »

We just bought a VW Passat for my wife. We went with the V6 4motion package, which has all-wheel drive; it will be fun to see how it works in a Western New York winter. It is a beautiful car all around, and loaded with features.

After looking at many different brands and models, we both took to the Passat. My wife, coming from a 95 Lincoln Continental, loves the new car. Considering what she had, that is good testiment.

Andrew
Andrew
'05 4001C64, Fireglo
'03 4003, Jetglo
rictified

Post by rictified »

If you do a lot of gigging how about a Dodge Magnum? Less than 30 grand, hemi V8 and gets about 30 Mpg on the highway.
cheyenne
Veteran RRF member

Post by cheyenne »

We're looking at a Honda Element. Kinda boxy looking, but as far as fuel economy and user friendly roomy features,(hauling equipment 100+ miles a night on weekends), it seems to be a logical vehicle for me.

I would really like to have a Dodge Magnum though. I love the powerful retro look.
"Knowledge is Power"
incubus2432

Post by incubus2432 »