Is this eBay TRC legit?
Moderators: rickenbrother, ajish4
Is this eBay TRC legit?
I've been looking around for a truss rod cover to fit a basket case 330 project, and I found this auction by eBay member "deute.drechsler" in Italy:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0267750879
I'm not knowledgeable enough to tell if a TRC is legit from a picture, but something that worries me about this one is the seller has listed four TRCs on eBay in the last two weeks. Does this raise a red flag for anyone else? Can any of the experts on this forum tell if this TRC is legit from the picture? Any advice much appreciated.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 0267750879
I'm not knowledgeable enough to tell if a TRC is legit from a picture, but something that worries me about this one is the seller has listed four TRCs on eBay in the last two weeks. Does this raise a red flag for anyone else? Can any of the experts on this forum tell if this TRC is legit from the picture? Any advice much appreciated.
- leftyguitars
- Advanced Member
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:44 am
- Contact:
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
This one looks to be legit, however should you win the auction you may well receive something that bears no resemblance to what you see in the photo.
"If only quilted maple grew on trees!"
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
this is reappearing auction every once in two weeks or so - so - caution! same pictures same legend.
dusan palka who is also known as grazioso on infamous auction web site
if you want to reach the man and expect an answer please make sure you remove this email address ([email protected]) from your spam block if you have one.
if you want to reach the man and expect an answer please make sure you remove this email address ([email protected]) from your spam block if you have one.
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
Thing is, it's just a photo. It wouldn't be hard for fake-TRC sellers put up a real photo and then ship a fake. In the end, most people probably wouldn't even notice the difference.
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
Forgive my ignorance, but are people truly counterfeiting TRC's with raised letters? In Florence, no less?
- leftyguitars
- Advanced Member
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:44 am
- Contact:
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
See post number two above.Woodie wrote:Forgive my ignorance, but are people truly counterfeiting TRC's with raised letters? In Florence, no less?
"If only quilted maple grew on trees!"
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
-
fireglo67
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
Oh yes, at $50 to $100 a pop it's a very lucrative business.Woodie wrote:Forgive my ignorance, but are people truly counterfeiting TRC's with raised letters? In Florence, no less?
I want, and can easily get hold of a black pickguard for my Jetglo 360/12, so I'm also really tempted to buy a fake black TRC to match as Ric make it nigh impossible to get hold of the real thing.
Supply and demand......
I've no intention of ever selling my Rics so it's purely from an aesthetical point of view.
An all black 360/12..... MMmmmm.
- leftyguitars
- Advanced Member
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:44 am
- Contact:
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
I have an all black 4003s5LH (100% original and genuine)
...
"If only quilted maple grew on trees!"
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
-
fireglo67
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
Awesome. Looks like a stealth bomber!leftyguitars wrote:I have an all black 4003s5LH (100% original and genuine)...
I've always loved Paul Wellers all black 330, so if I can make my 360/12 all black and just as cool for under £100 then I'm having it. I'd love to buy the real thing from Rickenbacker but if they don't make it available, then like many others, I'm going to look elsewhere.
Peter, a question.
620/6 in Blueburst or Midnight blue, both the same price, which do you go for?
I'm liking the blueburst.
- leftyguitars
- Advanced Member
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:44 am
- Contact:
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
I like both colours personally. Just take the one that you like most and plays the best.
Regarding the TRC don't spoil a Rolls Royce by putting a fake Flying Lady on it. Black TRC's do become available on the forum here, just put up a 'want' post.
Regarding the TRC don't spoil a Rolls Royce by putting a fake Flying Lady on it. Black TRC's do become available on the forum here, just put up a 'want' post.
Last edited by leftyguitars on Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"If only quilted maple grew on trees!"
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
-
fireglo67
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
I see what you mean Peter. But for the untrained eye the difference between $25 and $150 talks volumes.leftyguitars wrote:I like both colours personally. Just take the one that you like most and plays the best.![]()
Regarding the TRC don't spoil a Rolls Royce buy putting a fake Flying Lady on it. Black TRC's do become available on the forum here, just put up a 'want' post.
If I ever did have a funny turn and decided to sell the 360, I would put all the original stuff back on it anyway. (and put the dodgy stuff on my new guitar!)
As I said, on stage it's all about my vanity and aesthetics.
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
Thanks guys for all the input. I think I'll steer clear of the auction.
- leftyguitars
- Advanced Member
- Posts: 2818
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:44 am
- Contact:
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
Rob, you just missed this one...
http://cgi.ebay.com/Rickenbacker-Truss- ... dZViewItem
http://cgi.ebay.com/Rickenbacker-Truss- ... dZViewItem
"If only quilted maple grew on trees!"
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
http://www.leftyguitars.co.uk
-
janglerocker
- Member
- Posts: 405
- Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 1:07 am
Re: Is this eBay TRC legit?
I understood that RIC would trade you black to white or white to black. No gold for white or black, though.
Can someone please confirm or refute.
Can someone please confirm or refute.
